If you’ve got apples…

… make applesauce!

Greetings from Minnesota. I awoke yesterday morning to realize I’d slept through my class at the gym 😦 but I decided I still had enough time for a few miles outside.

I put on long layers and covered my hands and ears because the thermometer read 10 degrees. Yes, 10!

Now today, I slept in some and then fussed around doing dishes and household odds and ends instead of going for a run. When I walked outside to get in the car and head to the farm, it was about 35 degrees and perfect for a run. Serves me right I guess!

Now about that applesauce.

I’ve been meaning to blog about this cooking endeavor because its a (relatively) easy and tasty way to use up a lot of apples.

My mother-in-law has 5+ full-size apple trees at the farm, and there are always hundreds of apples to be had if you’re willing to pick them and sort through the bad ones.

I took a very full bag, which amounted to 23 apples. After washing, I set to peeling and chopping. My brilliant husband informed me that it’s much easier to peel first and then cut the apples into sections. He was right. 🙂

20111118-101354.jpg

20111118-102528.jpg

After the apples were prepared, I loosely followed this Crockpot Applesauce recipe.

My apples were small and I didn’t want it to be too sweet, so I only used about 3/4 cup of brown sugar in my whole crockpot. I guestimated the lemon juice and vanilla and I skipped the cinnamon.

I like cinnamon, but not everyone does so I figured I can add it to individual bowls if I want.

The crockpot was full!

20111118-113021.jpg

I cooked it on low about 6 hours, and I didn’t mash up the apples because I prefer chunky applesauce.

The finished product is awesome, even though it always makes less than I think it will.

I froze a few bags, and I have some in the fridge to snack on. JR commented that I essentially made apple crisp filling, and I suppose I did. 🙂

What’s the coldest the temperatures have gotten around you this fall?

Are you a homemade applesauce fan?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to If you’ve got apples…

  1. Looks delicious! I should try that. I have an apple corer/peeler for apple pie and it works really slick! It’d be great for this.

  2. Jena says:

    I’ve never made homemade applesauce, and I haven’t had any….yet. My grandma sent me home w/ some after I went and got them from NC a few weeks ago. It’s in our fridge, but we haven’t opened the jar yet.

    uhm.coldest weather.. oh please, Lisa. It’s freakin’ scorching hot right now. It’s sickening. I think last weekend was our coldest yet, it got down to 38 .. whoopie. I’m really hostile about the hot weather right now. I really wanted it to be cold for my half.. but such is life. It was hot last year as well – this might be the last year I run this particular half.

  3. Brit says:

    That sounds amazing. Do you know how old the apple trees are that they produce a ton of full size fruit? We have about 20 apple trees, but most of them are not mature enough for full size apples yet.

    • Lisa says:

      I bet you’ll have some awesome apples in the future! Not sure how long various varieties take to mature, but I know the farm trees are anywhere from 15-20 years +. I think some of them are old enough that they seem to be nearing the end of their productive life.

  4. That looks delicious! But I have never made applesauce. Don’t kill me, it is about 50 here and I am cuddling under a blanket with my daughter.

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    Making applesauce was a huge part of my fall growing up – just like making strawberry jam was a major part of my summer. My grandma was a big canner and us kids were more than more than willing to help out. Since we moved away I haven’t done any canning/freezing since we really don’t have the need for it….but I still remember it all!

    But we never used a crockpot method – we put the cooked apples through a grinder thingymabob I can’t think of the name of…

  6. Lynn Wagner says:

    Apple sauce – After washing just core the apples and put them in a big pot with a cup or two of cider or water. Cook until soft and then put them through a cone sieve and you have you applesauce with lots of color. Freeze or process with hot water bath. Peeling is too time consuming – more so than sieving.

  7. Pingback: “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

