Blaze Red Short Sleeves

Greetings from 60 degree Minnesota.

It’s was a gorgeous day for mid-November, but it’s a little too warm If you are among the many in this area who enjoy deer hunting. Colder weather and even some snow on the ground is more ideal for that.

I don’t hunt, but lots of my family and friends do. Anyhow, I was very cognizant of the fact that I should wear something bright and visible when I went running today. More on that in a bit.

First, I’m going to morph into food blogger mode. Want to hear what I ate today??

Exciting, I know, but my husband certainly doesn’t want to hear it. And it’s actually kind of a funny story…

I slept in some this morning, and I awoke with a scratchy throat, plugged up nose, and general weariness. I’m not sure if I’m dealing with worsening allergies or a virus, but I felt mildly icky.

I sipped some coffee, and a leftover piece of pumpkin pie with a huge glob of whipped cream sounded perfect for breakfast.

I was also rather ticked at myself for not getting up earlier to either run or catch up on some housework. So I compensated by munching through some peanut M&M’s and a chocolate peanut butter bar while I tended to a few things.

I ran some errands and then headed to the farm. After checking on the new calves from earlier in the morning and treating a coughing calf I realized it was nearly noon. My stomach didn’t feel hungry for real food, so I ate some greek yogurt with blueberries and then headed back outside.

I realized if I hurried I could run a few miles in the gorgeous weather before I returned to farm tasks. My junk food and yogurt-filled stomach protested a little bit, but it wasn’t too bad.

I did get a nagging side ache the last few minutes, which I’m pretty sure was from all those M&M’s. Or maybe all the whipped cream?

I wore the brightest red shirt I had, and I saw several deer hunters in their blaze orange during even this quick 2 mile run.

Upon my return, I was starving again. Lucky for me, I have a husband who can cook. We’d made roast beef in the crockpot last night, and he’d created rich gravy with baked potatoes and buttery vegetables to go with the meat. Along with homemade pickles and a big glass of milk, this meal pretty much restored my abused stomach to normal. πŸ˜€

Going back to the run…

I’ve gotten better at realizing that even if I only have 20 minutes, I can still squeeze in a decent quality run. Especially because I want to get faster at 5K, I seriously need to make time for speedwork whenever I can.

After a few minutes warmup, I aimed for 5K race pace. I clocked my 2nd mile at 7:30, and I was pretty thrilled.

Overall, 2.13 miles @ 8:14 is better than 0 miles @ 0:00 pace. πŸ˜‰

Now for tomorrow I’m thinking I reeeaaly should get up early and do 6-8 miles on the treadmill. I want to wait and run mid-day, but whenever I try to plan longer runs in the middle of a day at the farm it seems they always get cut short.

What’s a girl to do when baby calves need you?

Speaking of baby calves, I snapped a more grown up shot of Etta today. I’m loving her luxuriously long eye-lashes!

20111112-111242.jpg

Do you or your family hunt?

Were your eating habits today as grand as mine?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blaze Red Short Sleeves

  1. Jena says:

    Aw, love the new picture of Etta! I don’t think anyone in my immediate family hunts. Chris would like to, but he doesn’t have his hunting license, and there is really no where around here to hunt. We actually saw a 6point buck this morning while we were driving to town. We usually see deer at least once or twice a week, but this was the first time I’ve seen one with antlers. It was pretty cool! He was really really skinny though, not one you’d probably want to shoot. — My eating on the weekends is always atrocious, especially on Saturday’s after my long runs. I generally drink coffee like it’s going out of style, and eat crap. Oh well

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    The main thing I remember about hunting season…being the one to find and keep the best blaze orange hat! Even if we didn’t go hunting we had to have at least a hat on to leave the house for a walk down the driveway to the bus or to do chores.

    You did great on you run – I should probably implement that policy for my own runs that are severely lacking!

  3. My husband and his whole family hunts. But luckily where we live in Denver, we don’t have to worry about being shot (by hunters at least).

    I have been eating pretty poorly lately too – Friday night, we went to a French bakery and I had a crossaint and truffle for dinner. Saturday, we went to a 50s diner and I had a burger, fries and shake. Then Sunday, I had chocolate peanut clusters and cheese on a tortilla for lunch and brownie + ice cream for dinner. Gah. Need to get back on track.

  4. Dana says:

    No one in my family hunts.
    I was HORRIBLE with my eating last week. I’m trying to get back on track this week though and I need to teach myself about portion control again….I have a bit of a problem with wolfing back large amounts of food!

  5. Cassie says:

    Those eyelashes are killer!

    And it just takes a lot of time and will power and forethought to eat healthy! That frustrates me sometimes. My husband doesn’t like most fruits and since I know he’s not always making healthy eating choices when he’s on the road, I’ve taken to making smoothies for all of us on the mornings when he’s home. I puree my frozen peaches, blueberries and strawberries with vanilla yogurt, a handful of kale, and a splash of OJ to thin things out (and the acidity helps the Calcium get better absorbed out of the kale). But this morning, I was in a hurry and ended up destroying my favorite spatula in the blender, ruining the whole smoothie made with my precious and dwindling frozen fruits and had to throw the whole thing out. : (

    The roast and veggies sound great, though!

  6. Jess says:

    Etta is soooo beautiful. I can’t wait until our neighbors calve! Except that means we’ll be in the dead of winter so maybe I’m not looking forward to it. Oh, yes. I am. We keep talking about buying a couple bottle calves from them (they don’t let the Mamas keep twins), but I don’t think it will be this year yet. Our barn needs a little more work first. But someday.

    I don’t believe 60 degrees. I won’t call you a liar. But I don’t believe it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

