Once a Day

Greetings from Minnesota.

I’m sure it didn’t get much above 40 degrees today, and we had a persistent west wind that chapped my face a rosy red.

We also had our first (light) snow flurries tonight. I always think the flakes are pretty, but I’m fine with minimal snow because I don’t want a lot of drifts to deal with in the farmyard until at least Christmas. (I apologize to all you snowmobile and ski enthusiasts out there for this travesty ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

I do believe it’s high time for an “Etta Update!”

Our little gal turned 6 weeks old on the 1st of November, and you may remember me telling you that’s the age we start weaning calves from milk at.

We first switch them to milk once a day, with water bottles in morning and milk at night. Then in another 5-7 days we switch to no bottles in morning and water bottles at night.

It’s not really practical to start switching every calf once they turn exactly 6 weeks, so I wean in groups of 8 – 16 just based on how close in age the calves are and how well they’re eating solid feed.

Etta was born during a busy calving time, so there are 16 calves in her weaning group. She’s right in the middle age-wise.

Maybe saying weaning “group” is confusing because each calf does continue to stay in their own hutch during weaning.

The calves that are weaned together will be grouped with other calves weaned at the same time once they move from hutches.

I tried to capture of photo of Etta & friends for you tonight, but my phone camera’s ability to work in low light is rather lacking.

20111109-082634.jpg

I think I’ve shown you this one before, but here’s Etta.

20111109-092415.jpg

Running Tales

Let’s start off with a confession.

As it becomes colder and darker in the morning, I have a harder and harder time getting up early in the morning to run.

This morning, I heard my 5:30 alarm, and I even got out of bed for some water. Then, I climbed back under my warm covers for way too long.

I don’t think this situation is helped by the fact that we’re trying to be economical by keeping our house around 60 degrees at night.

I had this idea that the end of daylight savings time would give me enough extra daylight (and ambition) to do a quick run outside in the morning if I really didn’t want to hit the treadmill. And I have run outside once this week, but 2.5 miles isn’t exactly a high quality workout.

So… It’s Wednesday night, and I’ve recorded 2.54 miles in my running log for the week. I guess the plan now is to make sure I get to 6 am bootcamp class tomorrow, and I try to make good on my intentions to run outside during daylight on both Saturday and Sunday through the winter.

At least I’m not the only one with the pre-winter running blues. Thanks, Bree @ Bees Knees Life, for helping me realize I’m not alone in my woes!

Normally having a race on the calendar helps me stay on track, and I do have my eye on a Snowflake Shuffle 5K coming up in December. If the weather is good I would love to PR, but somehow 5K training doesn’t light the same fire under my butt that 1/2 and full marathon training does. So it goes…

Got a favorite winter running tip for me?

Any details about Etta you’re wondering that I’ve neglected to share?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Once a Day

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I think I got about four texted photos and a FB wall full of photos of the WI/MN snow! We are getting snow here in CO but it is staying up in the mountains which is great since it is opening month for all the resorts!

    So far this week I have run…0 miles. And I’m not really regretting it. Life has gotten in the way and I should be back on track next week… maybe!

  2. Jena says:

    Etta is so sweet! I want to hug her little neck !

    I have no winter running tips. Plus, our winters are drastically different. I’m going to try to leave early on days that I have longer runs so that I can get the majority of it done before dark. Last night I did 3 miles and made it home right as the sun was about to completely set. I wore my reflective gear + a flashing red light .. I still don’t like running in the dark, but I think I like the treadmill even less.

  3. Runblondie26 says:

    Aww, Etta is so cute. Glad to kno wshe’s a dairy cow ๐Ÿ˜‰ I want ot give her a hug.

  4. Can you tell anything about Etta’s personality or what you think is cute/unique about her compared to the other calves (besides her unique markings)?

    The main thing that motivates me to run outside during the winter is that I have to walk the dogs anyway, so I might as well go running with them. But I’m guessing that your dog gets a lot of exercise being on the farm so that might not be a huge motivator. Maybe just thinking about how much he enjoys running (assuming he does)?

    • Lisa says:

      Hmm, well I would say that right now she’s in the “feisty calf” stage! She acts pretty independent, and she will still suck on my fingers if I offer them but she doesn’t like to be petted too much.

      Overall though, most adult cows aren’t afraid of people but they don’t really like being petted unless they get worked with a lot and maybe trained to lead on a halter. There are a few exceptions, and right now we have about 5 cows in the milking herd that love to be patted or have their ears scratched!

Leave a Reply

