Long Underwear and the Treadmill

Greetings from damp, 40 degree Minnesota.

Let’s just start with my admittance that this post may not be as interesting as the title suggests.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way…

It’s fall in Minnesota, and November is just days away. While it’s not freezing during the day and we don’t have snow yet, I’ve still decided it’s time for double layers on my legs.

While I’m not wearing true long underwear (Cuddl Duds are my preferred choice) I am indeed doubling up.

At least I don’t take it quite so far as JR who wears sweatpants under his jeans when it get really cold. Yes, I’ve got a skinny husband. ๐Ÿ™‚

When it gets truly cold though, we’ve both got heavy coveralls that will go on over however many layers we happen to pile on underneath.

Another fact of fall is shorter daylight. On the farm this certainly doesn’t keep us from our chores. But it does complicate things for me, the runner.

I don’t mind cold, and goodness knows I’ve spent enough on cold-weather running gear that I better use it!

However, I have never been one to run in the dark. If I had someone to go with I might reconsider, but the combo of dark and cold doesn’t even sound nice.

When I need to run early I head for the gym and the treadmill.

The first few runs I did were pretty boring. I was actually dreading ever returning to that moving belt, but then l remembered some rules that definitely improve the experience.

The main thing is that I need to challenge myself on the treadmill. If I’m doing speedwork or focusing on hitting a certain distance in a certain time, I’m more engaged and the time passes faster.

The other thing about the treadmill is I have to be patient for the first few miles. Almost always, the first 10 minutes or so on a treadmill suck. They just do.

After that, my body gets in a rhythm. The further I go, the better I feel. Up to a point of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For example, this morning I ran 8.02 miles in 78 minutes, and I felt strongest in the last 2 miles. I love runs like that.

Oh, I almost forgot! Music or podcasts are also essential. And I still try to get outside for several runs a week wherever I can squeeze them in.

I know none of these things are revolutionary, but they help me make the most out of the increased miles I’ll probably be doing indoors as the daylight gets less and less. Maybe they’ll even help some of you conquer the doldrums of the treadmill too.

On the bright side, daylight savings time ends soon and we’ll get some morning daylight back for a bit!

Have the dark mornings caused you to migrate onto the treadmill yet?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Long Underwear and the Treadmill

  1. Geesh, 8 miles on the treadmill? You are a beast! I’m not a morning person, and running in the morning for me is miserable (unless i’m long running, or racing) .. Plus, my treadmill is conviently located in the living room – my Dad’s apartment is also located under the living room in the garage. I promise he doesn’t want me banging around on the treadmill at 6am. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it =p

  2. Pingback: Long Underwear and the Treadmill | Cow Spots and Tales - Treadmill

  3. Dana says:

    Running in the dark and cold (especially in the early morning) is just not my cup of tea! Treadmill runs are an unfortunate necessity for running during the week. I will say that after the first 30 min, I definitely get into a zone and can keep going — I wish it only took 10 minutes for me to get “into” it!!

  4. I agree with you that to make time on the treadmill more bearable, it’s key to have something to keep you distracted – I do best with intervals. That said, I hate the treadmill and avoid it at all costs. I’m still running after work right now and trying to figure out how I’m going to hand longer mileage days when I leave in the dark and come home in the dark. Haven’t figured that one out yet… Maybe a combination of treadmill, track and outside?

  5. Cassie says:

    These dark mornings are just icky! And I don’t even run in the mornings. Even though I don’t like the thought of an even earlier sunset, I will be okay when daylight savings time ends so we can have some more light in the morning!

    Happy Treadmill running!

  6. Jess says:

    My treadmill is moldy. That says a lot, I think…

  7. sweatykid says:

    I don’t mind dark mornings. Streetlights and a headlamp and I’m all set! It’s when the roads get icy and treacherous and the wind starts howling that I start heading for the treadmill…

  8. Heidi Nicole says:

    I can’t handle the treadmill, ever. I was kind of excited about our apartment complex’s gym because its small and seldom used so you can have the entire TV to yourself. I still didn’t make it past 4 miles on the TM. So yeah, you get a ton of props for 8 miles!

    If I ever run in the dark I do what I can to make sure it is in the AM. In my mind it is safer because the sun is coming up so rather than just waking up all of the scary animals {and people!} are headed to bed! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

