Back to Class

Greetings from Minnesota. It was another day mixed with both sun and overcast skies. The mid-50’s temperature is making it feel much more like fall than the 80 degree days of last week.

Yesterday morning I was wide awake at 5:30 a.m. I quickly munched down some cereal, put on workout clothes, and filled my water bottle to the brim. Then, I was headed to the gym.

My gym is actually more of a community fitness center, and it’s located in the local high school. It has its own entrance and a full selection of free weights and machines, plus cardio equipment.

I just joined this fall after leaving my former gym in May. My former gym was close to my former office job, but with leaving my job and the arrival of summer I decided to call it quits.

One of the perks of the local fitness center is free classes. Various cardio, strength, and sports classes are offered through community ed, and they’re free if you belong to the fitness center. So instead of waiting until snowy weather to join, I signed up in time to take advantage of bootcamp.

As you all know, I’m mostly a runner when it comes to working out. I used to be better about doing strength training several times per week, but that really fell to the wayside this summer.

I decided this 6:00 a.m. bootcamp would be just the thing to liven up my routine and help me work some different muscles.

Class started out innocently enough with about 8 females ranging in age from 20’s – 50’s. We grabbed hand weights, jump rope and mat as we filed into the high school gym… which definitely made me feel like I was back in class. πŸ™‚

After a warm up jog around the gym, we launched into some squats and lunges with our hand weights. After the last set, my legs were practically buckling.

I’d only taken 4 pound weights, but apparently my quads have gotten especially wimpy.

Next we did some intensive jump rope sets. Between the too long rope and my lack of coordination, this proved way more difficult than I’d like to admit.

Happily, whenever I looked around my fellow classmates appeared to be having similar problems.

We did some ab work, but I swear the majority of the 45 minute session was focused around variations on squats and lunges. Even exercises that looked easy enough were making my poor butt and thigh muscles scream by the end.

I was getting sore and tired, but my all-time favorite song, “Don’t Stop Believin'” by Journey, came on to give me a nice boost at the end.

Running sounded easy after the rigors of class, so I hopped on the treadmill for an easy cool down. Ah; bliss.

I hate to admit it, but today it’s still slightly painful to squat down or climb stairs. I’m apprehensive my hamstrings and quads may snap like a cheap rubber band if I sit down too fast.

Guess I’ve really been neglecting strength training. 😦

On the bright side, I got a good workout, met a few people, and am definitely looking forward to what next week’s class will bring!

One more update tonight… Here’s Etta!

20111014-093432.jpg

As I picked up her empty milk bottle tonight, she thrust her little milk-covered muzzle out at me and licked her lips. I think she wanted more.

Her grain bucket and water bucket will have to tide her over until morning. πŸ™‚

Do you take any workout classes?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to Class

  1. sweatykid says:

    I have been a bit neglectful of strength training lately as well. Classes are tough for me; I find myself constantly in pain from challenging myself more than usual (I comparatively slack while on my own) and subsequently irritated at the instructor for daring to suggest that I work harder! As if! Sure feels good to wake up the next day with screamin’ legs though, doesn’t it?

  2. Brit says:

    Sounds like a successful class! I liked the Group Power class at my old gym. I am debating whether I will rejoin the gym when we get back to the US. I like the idea of having classes to go to, but in reality, it is usually tough for my to squeeze them into my schedule. Maybe I can talk my way into extra home gym equipment instead. πŸ™‚

  3. Brittany says:

    Love the Etta updates! Hayden loves cows right now. We have a pasture right next to our house and when he pass he starts looking for them and moos at them when he finds them. At our county fair this year they finally got a good animals and had a ton of cows there, he was able to get up close with the babies and adults. So FUN! I have been around horses my whole life and I had my first experience getting licked by a cow…never would have thought their tounge felt like a cat tounge!

Leave a Reply

