No Two Alike

Greetings from Minnesota. Today is the 5th day in a row we’ve reached at least 80 degrees. Pretty crazy for MN in October!

It does cool down at night, and we’ve also had a lot of wind which helps keep the animals cool – and makes my hair stand on end all day.

We made it back from Wisconsin yesterday, and while 6 new calves arrived while we were gone everything was still mostly in order.

As I checked on all the calves, I noted that Henrietta was looking healthy and vigorous.

She’s eating a bit more grain everyday and even learning to like water. Another thing I noticed is her long, tousled hair! She seems to have a longer coat than average, which is unkempt and endearing all at once.

It’s maybe hard for you to follow what I mean, so I’ll post a few pictures.

Here’s Etta…

20111007-034345.jpg

… And here’s her next door neighbor with a decidedly shorter, sleeker hairdo!

20111007-034614.jpg

One type of hair certainly isn’t better than another, but it is interesting to realize just how unique each calf is – even down to the length and texture of their hair.

At World Dairy Expo we watched the big show for awhile, and Jersey cows were being shown during the times we were there.

I tend to think that Jerseys look very much alike with their fawn-colored coats and dark eyes, but even they have distinctions when you look closely.

20111007-035216.jpg

The purple floor almost seems like carpet, but it’s actually wood shaving and sawdust. They dye the shavings a different color every year, I suppose to make them extra fancy. 🙂

There is always an impressive backdrop in one end of the show arena too.

20111007-035802.jpg

Would you guess that events like concerts and conventions are held in this same venue?

Morale of the story is, whether cows are Jersey, Holstein, or Brown Swiss, they all are 100% unique.

Running Tales

1 run in Wisconsin. Wednesday @ 7 a.m. 2 miles. Outside. Brisk pace and temperature. (I only brought shorts & tee and it was barely over 40 degrees).

Back in Minnesota, I covered 3 miles this morning with the middle mile @ 5K pace around 7:40.

Not a lot of miles this week – only 10 so far – but at least they’ve been enjoyable and quality.

Do you find that even when you’re supposed to get away for “vacation” you’re more tired upon returning than you were before you left?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No Two Alike

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I’ve always thought that Jerseys were so beautiful. There is something about one solid color that makes them seem so much more majestic than a Holstein. But I digress…

    My mom is coming to visit Colorado for the first time {her moving us here didn’t really count, all she saw was our apt and the airport…} and I have enough stuff planned to make her need a vacation when she gets home! 🙂

  2. Brit says:

    I often get more tired on “vacation” than during a normal week because we tend to go, go, go non-stop while traveling.

  3. Wendy says:

    I used to think that about Jerseys too, until I worked on my uncles’ Jersey dairy. Some are dark brown, some are reddish, some are very light, some are black, and some even have spots. I was especially intrigued by the light colored ones that would bleach out when they spent the summer months in the dry cow pasture. And I won’t even start on personalities…

    Etta is a sweetie!

    • Lisa says:

      Oh, I definitely agree! As I got older I quickly realized they can range from very dark to very light, plus have spots on occasion. Cow personalities can also be very unique. 🙂

Leave a Reply

