Expo and the “Calf Village”

Greetings… from Wisconsin! That’s right, I’m phone blogging as we travel to Madison, WI for World Dairy Expo. (Don’t worry; I’m not driving while blogging.)

Expo, as we refer to it, is a true gathering place for people from all over the world involved in the dairy industry. It features many large exhibit halls where you can learn about products and innovations in animal health, nutrition, housing, and even manure management. πŸ™‚

Farmers also bring the finest calves and cows from across the U.S. and North America to compete in the show-ring.

If you’ve ever watched a purebred dog show on TV, it’s actually pretty similar. Classes of the same breed and age of cows are led around the ring and evaluated on their physical conformation. They are well trained and well groomed as they parade about the ring too.

There are also educational seminars, several awards banquets, and vendors selling everything from specialty cheeses to rural artwork.

Expo is a great place for us to connect with dairy friends plus meet other farmers and discuss challenges and new ideas for our farms.

We haven’t been to Madison for a few years, so I’m pretty excited to be on the road.

I had a request for more Etta (thanks, Dana!) and I definitely checked on her as I busily prepared for our departure.

I’m honestly a bit stressed to leave our animals, but it’s only for a few days and I know they’re in good hands.

I snapped a close-up and a profile of Henrietta this afternoon.

20111004-092128.jpg

20111004-092151.jpg

Look at those lashes!

I also just realized I don’t think I’ve shared a look at our “calf village.”

I took this photo a few weeks ago and couldn’t help but think it looks village-like.

20111004-092513.jpg

Etta lives in the middle row, about 1/2 way down.

Running Tales

I did pack workout clothes for our trip, but I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to run.

I wanted to get a good run in this morning, and after feeling like a slug the first mile I actually warmed up enough to feel great. I did a progression run starting at about 9:30 pace and ending at 7:30. 5 miles total, plus some core work. Woo!

Who likes free race photos? I got a hold of some pictures from my 5K last weekend. My facial expression is… Yeah…

But, the background is pretty cool.

20111004-100834.jpg

I’ve now covered the max of topics for one blog post, and we’re finally getting close to our destination.

Good night from Wisconsin!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running, This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Expo and the “Calf Village”

  1. World Dairy Expo sounds like fun! I can’t wait to hear more about it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Love the calf village photo! So neat and organized with a beautiful sky!

    And your race photo turned out pretty great too – at least you don’t have your hulk face on, just some serious concentration! πŸ˜‰

  3. Dana says:

    SQUEEE!!!! I love Henrietta pics πŸ™‚ Thanks for fulfilling my request — she’s a beauty!

    Have fun at the Expo and don’t worry too much about the animals – I’m sure they are in great hands πŸ™‚

  4. Bree says:

    That’s a great race pic!

    The calf is adorable πŸ™‚ Enjoy your trip to Sconnie!

  5. Brit says:

    Have fun in Wisconsin!

  6. bearrunner says:

    Great Job… nice photo!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

