Baby gets her tags… and a name!

I’m sure you’ve all been eagerly checking here on my blog to see what name is bestowed on our little lady. Or maybe not so eagerly…

In any case, she does have a name! I’ll share the process used to pick it and the name itself in a moment. First, a few photos.

20110923-094840.jpg

20110923-094900.jpg

We tag calves once or twice a week depending on how many we’ve had (and what other projects are demanding attention). When we tag we also have a few other important tasks we do for each calf.

Along with tags they get their first vaccine, a nasal vaccine that’s just a little squirt in each nostril to help prevent several respiratory diseases. Plus the calves get dehorned. We use a pink paste that gets dabbed on over the start of the horn and prevents horn growth.

We remove the horns for safety reasons for us, and I also think it helps keep the “boss” cows from pushing around their herdmates too much.

You can see the pink horn paste below.

20110923-101705.jpg

About that name. I went through the comments and gave each name suggestion a number in order. If a comment suggested more than one name each suggestion got a number. (So if you suggested multiple names you did have a better chance of getting your name picked.)

Eleven suggestions, and here’s what random.org says:

20110923-102142.jpg

Number 5 is the winner, and that means Henrietta. Thanks Trish, and all of you for your comments!

I wonder if I can call her Etta for short? ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s getting late, and I’ve got a 5K calling my name in the morning. Here’s hoping I can report a PR to all of you next time I sit down to blog. You can also watch my twitter for even speedier updates.

Goodnight from Henrietta and I!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby gets her tags… and a name!

  1. Brit says:

    How cute! I like Etta for Henrietta. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    I think Etta is a good nickname!
    Good luck in your 5K!

  3. Trish says:

    I love the nickname Etta!

  4. Dana says:

    I love her name and I think Etta is a great nickname ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

