Oh Happy Day – To Me!

Greetings from Minnesota on this drizzly morning.

Today is September 20th. Anybody know what that means?

Well, exactly one year ago today I started blogging here at Cow Spots and Tales. Check out the inaugural post if you like.

Speaking of which, do any of you like to go back and read the first post on blogs you’ve recently started following? Maybe this is a weird quirk unique to me, but I like to do this sometimes. It’s always interesting to read the “why” and “how” of someone’s entry into blogging.

So for my blog-iversary, I was trying to dream up something cool to do. I thought I could go back through the archives and write a “best-of” or favorites post, but I sort of did that recently when I posted Seven Things.

Then I though perhaps I should do a fresh new update to my blog design and format. The problem with that idea is right now I know I don’t have the time to do it justice.

What a blog really needs to do to celebrate is have a giveaway, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

So, I will be doing just that. In honor of my first year blogging, I’m giving away a dairy-themed gift pack to one lucky winner! I’m still working out all the goodies it will contain, but you’ll get some fun kitchen gadgets, dairy recipes, and more.

I think my favorite item may be this awesome cooler bag pictured below. It’s great for keeping dairy and meats cool as you transport them home from your latest shopping trip.

20110919-041116.jpg

How do you enter? 2 ways.

1) Leave a comment on this post giving me some feedback. Want to see more or less of something on my blog? Have a favorite post or a topic you wish I would cover? Let me know.

2) Help spread the word about my giveaway. This can be done via your own blog, as well as twitter, facebook, or anywhere else on the web. Just leave me a comment telling me where you shared my giveaway.

I’ll choose a winner next Monday, so you’ve got until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, Sept 25th to leave your comments and get entered.

And here’s the other cool part of today. I’ve decided it would be a fitting birthday for the baby calf we’re going to follow along with. So, the first heifer (female) calf born today will be our girl. I’ll post an update as soon as she arrives.

If we don’t have a baby girl today then we’ll just have to be patient and wait for the first heifer to arrive when she does.

Thanks to all of you for reading along during year one here on my blog. I have appreciated your comments and feedback so much as I continue sharing the stories of our farm and my running journey. Hopefully I’ll keep up this blogging thing for many more years to come!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Oh Happy Day – To Me!

  1. Brit says:

    I was wondering what the calf selection theme would be! Great idea! Can’t wait to see our girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Rebecca says:

    Exciting! Happy anniversary! I was also wondering when we would get to meet our calf, I have been looking forward to it.
    That’s my feedback– more cute baby calves!

  3. Dana says:

    Happy Blog-i-versary!!! I can’t wait to meet our calf ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. jena says:

    I’m weirdly excited about “meeting” the new baby heifer. Like, giggling excited. That is weird.

    Happy Blogiversary! Very exciting! I pink puffy heart your blog – I swear I feel like we are friends IRL. (again, weird). I love that your life is so drastically different than mine, but I feel like we are similar in a lot of ways as well… clearly I’m having a mushy, weird day.

    I think you have a great balance of cows & running! I was just thinking last night, “I wish I could find more blogs that write about running & life.” I get tired of reading about every breakfast/lunch/dinner a person eats, and sometimes I feel like certain blogs are to “planned” out. I like randomness, and variety. Your blog is el-perfecto. (bet you didn’t know I speak spanish).
    Ha.
    I have to end this comment before you un-friend me.

    • Lisa says:

      Awh, such a nice comment. Thank you! I feel like we could great friends IRL too. I suppose it helps that you are one of the first people that I really “met” online and I’ve been following your blog for a long while. Long story short, I will never un-friend you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Bree says:

    Happy blogiversary!

    Honestly your blog is so unique and I love reading about your running and farming. I am sure my interest in these things have a lot to do with the fact that we live near each other and both enjoy running – and finally got to meet in real life ๐Ÿ™‚ Speaking of…I hope we “run” into each other again at a race coming up sometime soon.

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    I love that you write about the farm life. As a farm girl I do miss that in my current city life. I’ll admit to skipping over some of the indepth explainations because of my background but I completely understand how that is necessary and totally appreciated by the non-farmers out there, so I think it is great!

    Although I will go so far as to say it would be nice if I could read a full blog post in Reader…but I’m just a lazy bum like that. Instead of read daily I’ll usually stock pile a few of your posts before I click over to read. Seriously, I’m that lazy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Heidi Nicole says:

    I tweeted the giveaway.

    PS…how have I not been following you?! I swear I was…oops!

  8. Happy Blog-versary!

    I agree with Heidi Nicole about reading the full blog post in Reader (I also am lazy). I would also love to hear more about your life outside of running and cows (although I do like that). Like your husband, family, friends, food habits, random thoughts, etc.

    I’m excited to meet the calf!

  9. jena says:

    I was just thinking you should post a typical eating day. I know you stay super active on the farm, and I’m wondering how much you eat during the day. I eat like a (enter farm animal here) and I sit at a desk.

    • Lisa says:

      Good suggestion. I don’t directly track what I eat, so it would probably be a good exercise for me to track everything for a day or so. I’ll plan to do this in an upcoming post!

  10. Holly says:

    I’m new to your blog and obsessed already! ๐Ÿ™‚ The baby calf is super adorable. I want one! lol Anyway, I agree with the lady above, I’d love to see what you eat in a typical day. Seeing what other people eat make me happy!!!

  11. Pingback: because | Life is Beachy Keen

  12. Pingback: Predicting the Future… | run.around.aroo

  13. Heidi Nicole says:

    I flaunted this giveaway on my blog… http://runaroundaroo.com/2011/09/20/predicting-the-future/

    And then predicted that I would totally win! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. Pingback: Florida, summer called, it said it’s ready for a vacay | Life is Beachy Keen

  15. Pingback: Aunt Lisa’s Farm | Cow Spots and Tales

  16. Happy blogiversary! I love this blog, I’ve learned so much about the dairy industry. Following your new calf is a fun idea.

Leave a Reply

