Rockstar Run

Greetings from 60 degree Minnesota.

We got some rain today which temporarily halted corn silage chopping, but we hope to be back at it early tomorrow.

By way of farm updates I’ll just say that we had 5 new calves today, and it’s been a productive but draining week at the farm.

Side Note: None of today’s calves were selected as the lucky calf we’re going to “follow” on my blog. I’ve actually got a scheme worked out to select one, so expect details in a future post soon.

Running Tales

I haven’t done an actual long run, which in my thinking means at least 8-10+ miles, in many weeks. I had hoped to run long on Saturday, but with silage chopping we really needed all hands on deck most of the day.

I don’t directly drive the silage equipment, but I’ve got to pick up some slack on cow and calf care because other people are in the fields.

Anyhow. I knew finding several hours to run would be futile (unless I wanted to go in the dark at 4 a.m. and be bone tired all day) so I re-strategized.

I want to race a shorter distance this fall, right? It will probably be a 5K because of logistics and availability, right? I should maybe think about actually running at goal 5K pace sometime soon, right?

Yes, exactly.

Now I know long runs are good for any training plan and they build endurance, etc. I do enjoy them too.

But, I feel kind of like an idiot that I’ve been fantasizing about running sub-8:00 pace this fall, and I haven’t done any tempo work to see if I can actually accomplish it.

I told myself a short run is better than no run, and once this tempo run plan entered my brain about 10 a.m. on Saturday I also knew it would be a hard run if I could stay on pace.

About 11:00 I was finally organized to sneak away for 1/2 hour. I planned 1 mile easy warm-up, 2 miles at goal pace of approximately 8 minute miles.

To all you 5K experts, do you think perhaps a 5K is short enough that I should really try to run a full 3.1 as close to goal pace as possible?

I digress.

I started out and probably covered the first mile with a smile plastered on my face because I was so happy to have made time to run.

The weather was cool and breezy, and I felt swift. Maybe a little too swift for a warm-up mile, but I relaxed my pace mid-way and finished easy.

Then it was time to start asking my legs for speed. It’s true I’ve been doing some track workouts lately, but I feel like goal pace runs are a whole different animal.

I honestly fear them, but I also look forward to seeing the results. It’s probably dorky to feel this way because it’s not like I’m a super runner, but I can’t deny the fact that it’s important to me to improve.

I want progress, gosh darn! ๐Ÿ™‚

So, without further ado, I present to you my splits.

20110918-101614.jpg

The thing with RunKeeper is I can see average pace and instant pace, but I can’t see mile splits. I knew I was keeping close to pace, but I have to wait until post run to pull up my actual splits.

Mostly, I’m super pumped that I managed to run the 2nd mile faster than the first! I know this isn’t exactly guaranteed accurate, but it gives me a pretty good idea that I can, in fact, PR at 5K this fall.

This workout shows me I CAN run at sub-8:00 pace. Whether or not I do so on race day remains to be seen. Now I just really need to pick a race!

I’ve got several options this fall, so I’ll close with one more question.

Should I aim for a race in a week or two, or should I wait until later in October??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rockstar Run

  1. Nice work! I bet if you put in a few good weeks of training, you could knock out an awesome 5K in October!

  2. Jena says:

    Great run! I’m sure you can get a sub8 5k under your belt this fall! I’d probably do as many 5ks as I could this fall for as many chances to run sub8 as possible ๐Ÿ™‚

    I say do the one in a few weeks. The weather is cooling off there, and that alone will probably bring your pace down some.

    Good Luck!

  3. Brit says:

    Awesome job! I agree with Jena, you should do a bunch of 5Ks!

  4. Dana says:

    Wow! Nice work ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you’d kick butt in the 5K dept!

  5. poeticruse says:

    I say revise your goal. If you did this in your first attempt, you can get faster than this with some interval training and a little consistency. Don’t worry about your long run too much (though I agree that it’s still a good element) and just get out for a couple of easy runs and a workout (intervals, probably) each week.

    And I agree with the crowd, yeah, sign up for a few 5Ks.

  6. shelby says:

    Do both races! There is no better training for a 5K than to run lots and lots of 5Ks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Bree says:

    Wow – great run! I would do both races if you can swing it, too.

  8. Heidi Nicole says:

    I’d do a race in a week or two and in October… just because. But then I just ran my first race in months and I am so ready for more racing…!

  9. Lisa says:

    Thanks for all the nice feedback everyone! I guess you’re right about trying to do several races this fall to both prep and give myself a few chances to run well. Last fall I also should have been in shape to run sub-8:00 pace, but on race day it just didn’t work out like I had hoped.

    You can also probably see that this latest tempo was done on unbelievably flat roads, so I hope I can find a flat 5K to help my time along. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

