An Early Visitor

Greetings from 40 degree Minnesota. It didn’t quite freeze last night, but Wednesday night it hit about 29* and the frost was glistening.

This is definitely early for frost – even in Minnesota!

Because it was such a late, wet spring, I know some farm fields throughout MN and the Midwest weren’t far enough ripened for a freeze to be okay. I’ve especially noted soybean fields that weren’t ready for frost, and my heart goes out to these farmers.

All of our crops should be okay, but the freeze pushes forward our corn silage timeline. We chop much of our corn into silage, which means our chopper (the same one we use for hay) chops up the entire corn plant and then shoots it into a semi that drives alongside.

Here’s my husband getting ready to go to the fields yesterday:

20110916-072329.jpg

Once corn freezes, it dries quite quickly. The plants need to have about 65% – 75% moisture when we harvest for optimal quality. It will be a race the next few days to get the silage chopped before it gets too dry, and before the forecasted rain later this weekend.

Running Tales

The frost did make for a lovely morning run. I was tired and sore from moving lots of calves and hutches the past few days, so I had a hard time crawling out of bed. A few easy miles was just what I needed.

I covered 2.26 miles @ about 10:45 pace so it was definitely a recovery run.

You may remember that I don’t live on the farm; we’re about a 10 minute drive away. So that’s why these upcoming pictures may show less farm scenery than you would expect!

I stopped to try and capture the beauty of the frost, the steam coming off the nearby lake, and some early fall colors.

20110916-073417.jpg

20110916-073450.jpg

20110916-073528.jpg

20110916-073558.jpg

On another note, thanks for your comments about my “follow that calf” idea. Once I have time to do this project justice, hopefully in the next week or so, I will pick a baby and we can start following her!

When (if ever) does the first frost generally happen where you live?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Crops, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Early Visitor

  1. Kierstan says:

    Beautiful photos from your run!

  2. Brit says:

    Awesome picture with the sailboat in it!

    I can’t believe that there was frost! It is still 90+ degrees here every day and it still doesn’t feel to me like summer is coming to a close.

  3. jena says:

    I LOVE the lake picture, that is amazing. I can’t believe it’s already so cold in parts of the country. Unbelievable. The weather here is so unpredictable, who knows when we will have the first frost. I don’t remember when we got our first frost last year. — I am REALLY hoping that it cools down soon. It would be awesome if we had cooler temps for the 2 half-marathons that I have planned this “fall.”

  4. Bree says:

    That lake photo is awesome!

    This cool down really came as a shock to me. We finally had to use our comforter last night! It was cold getting ready in the morning, too. I refuse to turn on our heat just yet.

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    Love the photos from the run! A morning frost really is beautiful! It is getting a lot cooler out here but no frost {just snow in the high country} and I don’t even know if we the pretty frost out here – there really isn’t a lot of moisture out here and I’m yet to see fog…

Leave a Reply

