Moo-ving In

Greetings all! Minnesota is fairly cool today (60’s right now) but also rather humid.

I’m sure you’re all expecting Part II of my “food frenzy” and talk of state fair food, but I’ve got to put it on hold briefly.

Today’s post simply has to be about moving cows into the new barn.

Now we do already have some cows in one side, but I didn’t capture any pictures of the process. Yesterday I was ready as we herded the pasture cows into the barn.

That tiny orange speck mid-picture is my husband starting to bring up the cows.

20110902-051313.jpg

I didn’t get any pictures of the cows actually entering the barn because we were all busy herding and making sure they didn’t run down the driveway or into the cornfield.

Checking out the new surroundings: gotta smell the floor!

20110903-073324.jpg

Trying out the stalls is important too.

20110903-073617.jpg

It’s pretty funny to watch a whole herd of cows in new surroundings. Even though all these cows have lived in the barn before, they run around mooing and sniffing as though they’re on a different planet.

They act kind of like wild teenagers (or a herd of cows ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Some will climb up into a stall almost right away while others continue to walk the aisles and explore.

I think these gals will be happy in the barn!

Pasture sounds great and does have its merits, but with our wet summer there are spots that just get really muddy. There are also more insects and flies to contend with and the animals are more exposed to the elements. (There are no giant fans in the pasture…)

Of course we do what we can to provide insect-control, cool water, and shade.

Whether they are indoors or outdoors, I guess the bottom line is we always work to give our cows the best care we can.

Now that these dry cows are in the barns, we’ll soon be moving some of our yearling (1-year-old) heifers out to pasture.

Running Tales

I’m pretty excited to report I made another visit to the track!

I’ve decided I really want to do some quality speedwork at least once a week in preparation for a 5K or 10K this fall, yet to be determined.

I ran an easy 2 miles to the track yesterday morning, and did some 800 repeats. My legs were burning and my heart racing as I rounded the track, and I knew I was working hard.

What I assume was the cross country team was just leaving as I showed up, and it did make me wish for a running partner as I did laps.

I also fell into the trap of running too fast. I honestly used to think repeats, especially short ones like 200s and 400s, should be done as fast as I could go.

After reading up on the topic and doing the workouts, I’ve since come to understand that I need to run at a hard pace that is still sustainable for multiple repeats.

If you’re doing 8 – 400’s for example, you will just run out of gas if you sprint the first two.

Anyhow, my first 800 worked out to about 6:30 pace, and I realized I should probably be running closer to 7:30, which is still faster than my 5K PR pace.

I haven’t looked at McMillan training times for awhile, so I should refresh my memory. Even though the first 800 was the fastest of the repeats, I still think it was a successful morning at the track.

How do you determine your optimal training paces?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moo-ving In

  1. Jess says:

    Wish I could have been a fly on the wall… (not that you want flies in the barn) to watch them explore and sniff and peek around. They aren’t *just* cows, and you make that so clear. They have so much personality! Love the view through your eyes here!

    • Lisa says:

      I wish you could be too! Mostly because I know you would get some fabulous pictures. You inspire me w/ your photography, but I still need to get a decent camera…

  2. great job on moving the cows. and the track workout. i used to have the “balls to the walls” attitude about speed work in general. i think being consistently fast rather than sprinting the whole thing, is something that’s tough to learn. it’s all about control.

  3. Clea says:

    Great blog, and thanks for checking out mine. I’ll have to spend a little time reading about your cows. It sounds like you have a VERY interesting job. I also can’t imagine running through a Minnesota winter! I hope to join you on Team Refuel!

  4. Brit says:

    Great job getting through a track workout on your own, that is always really tough to do!

    I love the cow pictures. Interesting to hear about the cows checking out their new surroundings. Sounds just like what people do!

Leave a Reply

