A Food Frenzy – Part I

Greetings from Minnesota. On this first day of September it was sure hot and humid. Definitely reached 90 degrees.

What better way to spend this hot day than walking around the Minnesota State Fair? ๐Ÿ™‚

We do love the fair, and we were happy to spend part of the day there. Animals and exhibits are awesome, but the food is one of the true attractions of this fair.

You can find everything from the typical cheese curds and cotton candy to alligator on a stick.

I know I talk a lot about farming, and I haven’t food-blogged for a long time. But, I love food. We raise food after all!

Before I talk too much about our food journey at the fair, I should backtrack to Wednesday night.

JR and I decided to head down to the Twin Cities later on Wednesday in hopes we could arrive at the fair early Thursday and beat some of the heat (and traffic).

We stayed in Minneapolis and of course wanted to take advantage of the city and its fine dining. ๐Ÿ™‚

We strolled the streets a bit, and I posed for a picture with the late, great Harmon Killebrew outside the Twins home, Target Field.

20110901-094234.jpg

One thing about the city that I always find sobering is the affluence and luxury right next to poverty and great need.

Farming may not be glamorous and we may work a lot, but I know I need to thank God for the blessings in my country life.

I pray for the suffering people I saw, but I know that doesn’t really fulfill their current needs.

I do still give to a shelter & program I was involved with when I lived in the cities, and I can only hope it may help some of these people.

As thoughts swirl through my brain, I realize it’s time to meet one of my sisters. We’ve wanted to eat at this place for a while now: our food destination of the evening, Fogo de Chao.

If you aren’t familiar, this is a Brazilian-style steakhouse, all you can eat. After an amazing salad bar filled with truly fresh veggies, salads, cheeses, and smoked salmon and meats, they start bringing you the hot food.

Servers go around to the tables with hot skewers of ribeye, lamb chops, filet mignon, and more – 15 varieties of meat.

If you have your card flipped to green, they keep offering you more meats, and if it’s red then they won’t. See below:

20110901-095358.jpg

The lighting was difficult for my iPhone, and I believe this is late in the evening when JR was already feeling too full to accept any more meats, no matter how good they smelled.

20110901-100736.jpg

A look at the salad bar with it’s huge floral vases.

Along with the meats, hot & fresh pollenta, garlic mashed potatoes, popovers, and caramelized bananas appeared on our table whenever we needed more.

Feeling like a stuffed turkey after several platefuls, I finally relented and turned my card to red.

My plate still looked suspiciously full as I attempted to finish eating.

20110901-102522.jpg

I do believe I tried 13 of the meats, and some of those more than once.

Overall, it was an awesome dining experience with great service and delicious and some unique foods. I totally want to try replicating the caramelized bananas.

Would I go back? Yes. How often? Let’s just say this isn’t something my stomach should handle more than several times a year. ๐Ÿ™‚

And… this post has gotten pretty long.
I’ll save my state fair food discussion for a blog post coming soon.


Have you ever been to Fogo de Chao or a similar restaurant (and lived to tell the tale)?

What are your thoughts on the most effective way to help those in need and hungry in your area?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Food Frenzy – Part I

  1. Jena says:

    Oh man! We have a place like that called Texas De Brazil – I’ve never been, but I know a few people that have been. It’s the same thing, they walk around with meat on skewers, and they have the red/green card thing. I would like to go, but it’s in Orlando, and we are a few hours away from Orlando, so I don’t see it happening anytime soon. I would have no self control and I know I would end up leaving absolutely miserable.

    I think food banks, and soup kitchens are an okay way to help feed hungry people in our area. I know there are a few food banks, but I’m not sure if there are any soup kitchens. We live in a pretty rural area, about an hour from clearwater and an hour from tampa – so I’m not sure what is available to help people. I do see a lot of people standing in intersections with signs. I see the same people day after day. I don’t have a problem giving them a few dollars if I have it, but Chris doesn’t want me to – so I usually don’t. but I always feel incredibly guilty to be sitting in my fairly decent car, and they are standing on the street asking for money. Oh man, homeless people is a tender subject for me, I just want to scoop them up,and make them dinner.

    • Lisa says:

      I hear you. I think places that provide meals, as well as programs that help people get back on the right track, are some of the best things. I always want to give a few dollars to people with signs, but my H also seems to think it’s not a good idea. I think guys are more skeptical & assume it will just get spent on alcohol or worse.

      Anyhow, thanks for your comments Jena. You have a good heart!

  2. Oh my, I got full just reading about that. Sounds like an amazing meal.

  3. Brie says:

    There is a FDC really close to my office! We’ve been once. Tim didn’t believe me when I told him he needed to not eat lunch in preparation. It was epic.

  4. holler to state fairs! i can’t wait until i get to go to mine this upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

