Cows and Running

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s overcast and 60 degrees today. It feels like fall, but I’m sure there will be warm days ahead yet.

Original post title, huh? šŸ™‚

But, that is really what this post is all about.

First, I’ll show you the cows.

20110828-114227.jpg

20110828-114330.jpg

20110828-114350.jpg

I thought our ladies in the pasture were looking pretty today, so I wanted to show them off to you.

Another exciting development on the farm is the new barn. It has cows inside! One of the two pens is now full of cows, and they seem quite happy in their new habitat.

20110828-121607.jpg

We’ll move cows into the other side this week, so I’ll try to get some pictures of that move as it happens.

Even though we’ve got lots of cows at home, I always love to look through the dairy barn at the Minnesota State Fair. I showed cattle there through 4-H and FFA while growing up, and it’s great to see so many kids doing the same.

I’ve only spent about 1/2 day at the fair so far, but I hope to get back for more time (and pictures) before it ends on Labor day.

20110828-122130.jpg

These Brown Swiss were among the 4-H cattle at the fair.

Running Tales

My August mileage numbers have been pretty underwhelming, but I have gotten in some of my speedier runs of the summer.

Yesterday I found a few minutes to watch the World Track & Field Championships, and the Women’s 10,000 was on.

Ever since junior high track, I have enjoyed watching running. I enjoy following along with professional running and track just like I do baseball.

I know a lot of people find it boring to watch, but I think it’s awesome. Maybe because I am a runner so I grasp just how fast the times they run really are?

Who knows, but after I watched some of the coverage I felt like I would run faster.

I only had time for 3.5 miles; I don’t know how I used to run 15 miles+ on the weekend… I started easy and ran the second 1/2 at mid- 8:XXs pace. Faster then I’ve run for awhile.

I’ve got work to do, but I have renewed hope in my running. šŸ™‚

Are you a track / pro running fan?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cows and Running

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Roaming through the barns at the fair is always fun. It’s really neat to see the cows all trimmed up and looking pretty!

    Great job on the run! We have a random channel that always has running, swimming, biking or tris on. Those people are FAST!

  2. Dana says:

    I have a dumb question! I know you have hundreds of cows but do any of them (especially the calves) tug at your heart? I seriously would wind up giving them names and want to pet all of them every single day! I’m sure all the hard work at the farm supersedes naming cows and talking to them šŸ™‚ but I just can’t help but wonder if you have a few favorites on the farm šŸ™‚

    • Lisa says:

      Not a dumb question. šŸ™‚

      Overall the answer is yes; of course I get attached to the babies and pet the ones that let me! They all need numbers so we can keep track of them, but several develop nicknames. Two of my favorite cows are Sugar and Tiger. Below is a post about Sugar: https://cowspotsandtales.wordpress.com/2010/10/09/where-am-i-hawaii/

      I tend to nickname various baby calves, and it seems like if we’ve got a sick calf or someone who needs special care then they get a name. I also have a habit of referring to our Montbelliarde/Holstein crossbred calves as “Monte” if they are boys and “Martha” if they’re girls. Creative, right?

      At my parent’s farm growing up we did name most of them, and at my husband’s farm they used to as well. Now, I think we would name more of them, but it just becomes impossible at a certain point to dream up new names. šŸ™‚

  3. Brit says:

    Those are really pretty cow pictures! It looks like a perfect day there!

    I have been watching a lot of the World Track and Field Championships as well, glad I’m not the only one who is amused by watching people run in circles. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

