The votes are in…

Greetings from Minnesota. We’ve had great weather lately. Cool mornings and evenings, sunny days, refreshing breezes, and just enough rain.

It’s easy to remember to give thanks to God when things are so pleasant! Busyness or stress can still threaten to complicate a day, but I try not to let them because I love late summer and the first glimpses of fall. 🙂

About that Team Refuel with chocolate milk thing…

The votes are in. Thank you so much to everyone who took the time to vote. Once, twice, or everyday, your votes worked!

I won a spot on Team Refuel. 😀

My first order of business will be to try and make some time to visit my favorite running store (and work with my favorite expert) to get new shoes.

I’m on my third pair of NB 758s, and I don’t think I can even find them online anymore. I could just switch to the 759s, but this prize money seems like a good excuse to test out some new options.

I also really should get a race on the calendar for fall, as that’s my other plan for the prize money. It will probably be 5K or 10K because I haven’t been doing long runs like I should…

Still, I’ve been getting in some shorter speed sessions and should be able to run a decent 10K.

My 5K PR, however, will be tougher to beat at my current fitness level. 5K races are more abundant around here in fall, so maybe I’ll give it a try anyhow.

I’m also supposed to receive some cool training gear. I’ll report back about that when it arrives!

To finish out this post, I’m sorry to say I don’t really have any cool, new pictures from the farm to share.

But, I did get Calvin to “pose” for a close-up recently.

20110817-102802.jpg

I haven’t blogged about him too much lately, but all is well. Since we got him back in April, he just continues to weave himself more and more into our daily life.

He is also getting better about staying around the farmyard and listening to commands. He still needs more training, but he’s progressing well.

That’s all for tonight. Thanks again to all of you for your votes!!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Calvin, Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The votes are in…

  1. Jena says:

    Yay! Congrats on making the team, that’s exciting!!

    What a sweet picture of Calvin!

  2. bearrunner says:

    I was on the 758’s too, I couldn’t get them as of early 2011 in Canada and switched to the 759’s and I love them… There are some subtle upgrades to the 759’s..
    Congratulations on winning the contest!
    Cheers

  3. Dana says:

    Hooray!!! I you weren’t a perfect addition to the team….I don’t know who is!

    Does Calvin come to the farm everyday?

  4. Runblondie26 says:

    Awesome! It would have been a travesty of justice had you not won. Congrats Lisa!

  5. KristieB says:

    Congrats on making the team! How exciting!

  6. Congrats on the win! Also, the closeup of Calvin looks so much like our dog Charlie (a girl). Very cute!

  7. Lisa says:

    Thanks again everyone 🙂

  8. Heidi Nicole says:

    Congrats! Enjoy your new shoes!

    I’ve realized that chocolate milk in CO tastes nothing like chocolate milk in WI. I don’t know what it is but we’ve tried two brands and its just not great. Tastes more like Nesquik!

  9. Brit says:

    Congrats on making the team!

    Hi Calvin!!!

  10. Pingback: Updates: Henrietta and Official Team Refuel | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

