The Finishing Touches

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a beautiful August day after a mix of rain and sun yesterday.

You may remember that yesterday was my sister’s wedding day, and the rain stayed away during all the important moments so we were happy!

I hardly had a chance to snap any pictures, but I will share this candid from the ring bearer photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

20110807-104803.jpg

I’ll try to share some more photos when they come my way.

Besides the wedding festivities, we’ve also been keeping busy finishing up our new barn addition. I showed you this picture several months ago:

20110807-105936.jpg

…And now things are looking rather like this.

20110807-110244.jpg

We’re working on putting in the cow mats as well as the stalls now that all the cement work is done.

20110807-110513.jpg

If all goes well we hope to be able to move in some cows by the end of the week.

Running Tales

Not so much…

I’ve put in a few miles this week, but between farm and wedding I’ve been pretty consumed.

I’d hoped to run a few early-morning miles on Saturday, but when I woke up my parent’s household was already buzzing.

I knew I would stay put with my sisters, and soon wedding mode was in full force.

I wish I saw them more anyhow, and I always appreciate time with my family.

I’m sure I’ll find a few more hours in the next weeks to lace up my running shoes. ๐Ÿ™‚

What are you busy with during this last month of summer (that goes by too quickly)?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Finishing Touches

  1. jena says:

    Congrats to your sister!

    The summer months are just like any other month during the year except it’s hot as heck. August is the only month we do anything special (our vacay), but other than that we don’t do anything special.

    Now I start counting down until my birthday, and new years. This year we are going to try to get down to Key West for New Years. My best friend just moved down there so we want to go visit!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Congrats to your sister! Glad the weather semi-cooperated!

    I’m assuming the cow mats hold up pretty well (otherwise they wouldn’t be used…) but do you have to replace them at all? And how do you manage to keep them clean? On the farm I grew up on we used sand in the free stall and it was always fun to scrap cow poo out of sand!

    • Lisa says:

      They do hold up pretty well, and they get bedded with a mix of straw/sawdust and cleaned off twice everyday. Lifespan is probably 10 years+, but we do need to replace every so often.

      Sand is awesome. We aren’t really set up for it in our dairy barns, but u gear many people like it!

  3. Jess says:

    Oh sweet mercy. I had to read your first line twice because I thought it said “rain and snow”. It’s too early for that, and can you tell I’m terrified that we’re going to have a horrid harsh winter again!?

    The barn looks awesome! Can’t wait to see some cows in there.

Leave a Reply

