Hot, Steamy, Long Days…

Greetings from Minnesota. If you live anywhere in the east or midwest you probably know what the weather has been like lately.

In a word, broiling.

Keeping cows and calves healthy and as cool and hydrated as possible has been our number one priority during these steamy days and nights.

I feel like we’ve hardly left the farm, and our days have mostly consisted of work – eat – sleep.

Today offered some cooler relief, and the high temp of about 85 with lower humidity felt almost comfortable. ๐Ÿ™‚

This new mom – of twins – is also happy the temps cooled today!

20110721-105320.jpg

Normally our cows don’t calve on pasture because we bring them inside several weeks before their due date for closer monitoring.

These twins weren’t due until August, but that didn’t stop them from arriving a few weeks early.

Running Tales

Not much.

This week, I’ve made it out for one very early morning run. About 2 miles worth. The heat hasn’t stopped me as much as the incredibly long days at the farm, but the heat surely hasn’t helped.

I’m hoping for a 60 degree morning tomorrow so I can run some very enjoyable miles.

Are you getting the heat wave where you live?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hot, Steamy, Long Days…

  1. Brit says:

    What a cute picture! I have fallen off the running bandwagon this week also. I finally managed to make a triumphant return this morning, thankfully in the air conditioning!

  2. Uugh, it finally rained + stormed last night so I think we are done with this gross heat. My runs this week have not been pretty.

  3. Wendy says:

    It’s brutal here in Missouri! We’ve had a solid week of near-100 degree high temps + humidity, and it isn’t supposed to let up until Monday. When the temps don’t get below 80 at night, it’s tough on the cows (my family milks Jerseys; my husband’s family milks Holsteins). Given the weather, I think it would be interesting to do a post about how you keep your cows cool. Have a great day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It’s been storming almost every afternoon here and much more humid than usual. But Wednesday after work, I came out to 85 degrees and 20% humidity and it felt pretty nice so I went on a 6 mile run. It also clouded over and rained a little on my run so it was very enjoyable.
    Hope it cools down in the Midwest soon!

  5. poeticruse says:

    Man, no fair talking about broiling and cows. I know they’re dairy cows, but now I’m HUNGRY.

  6. poeticruse says:

    Oh, and on the heat front, Michigan has been brutal too; I got 3 runs in this week, Tuesday/Wednesday and this morning. The only one where the temperature was bearable was the morning run this AM, but I grit my teeth and have racked up 13 miles so far. I bought a hand-grippy-bottle in order to have water with me during these scorcher runs, and between that and a realistic slowing of my pace, I have managed to survive.

  7. Bree says:

    Yesterday felt so much better even though it was still hot! I was able to run almost a full minute per mile faster yesterday then earlier in the week. Crazy how much it affects me. The twins are cute!

  8. bearrunner says:

    Its funny, in the winter people wish for the heat, in the summer they wish for the cool… 60 is pretty near perfect running conditions.. it is not easy running in the heat/ humidity… I went once last week and had to bring a bottle to pour over me through out the run

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

