Coincidence or Something More?

Greeting from Minnesota. It’s 90* out. Cows don’t love warm weather anyhow, and with the 90%+ humidity it feels completely gross outside.

On this steamy day, I’ve got several photos and anecdotes from the past few days to share.

20110716-083520.jpg

JR’s cousins from Charleston (yes, I do mean SC) are up visiting, and when they stopped by a few nights ago I was just going to do the final check of the evening for new calves.

Of course they wanted to come with even though I didn’t think it was likely that we’d have any new babies just then.

Well, I was wrong! We found a big white heifer still being licked off by her mom, and when milk was ready we had a great time bottle feeding this new addition.

20110716-093559.jpg

20110716-093619.jpg

Earlier this week, we were praying for several days free of rain so we could get our hay chopped. We knew the rain would be coming, and just a few hours after we finished covering hay pile we got some light rain.

Then on Friday, we got so much water we could hardly find our driveway. All that rain caused a huge mess, but we’re still busy being thankful we got our hay covered before the storms!

And now, we’ve got the hottest, stickiest weather ever. But, there is a silver lining.

Just a few days ago we got a window air conditioner passed on to us. Our house is really shaded and doesn’t usually get unbearable, but yesterday and today would be pretty miserable without that cool air.

Some may call these happenings just coincidence or even good fortune. But I know I’ve got God to thank for sending these blessings my way.

Before I wrap this up, I’ve got a little request to share with you.

Remember how I said that I’d be asking for a birthday gift? ๐Ÿ™‚

I submitted an application to become part of Team Refuel with chocolate milk. If I win, I’d get some cool chocolate milk gear and a grant to use toward races and running stuff.

How will I get selected? I need your votes!

Just go to Refuel with Chocolate Milk – Vote. You’ll have to search for me among the athletes, but I should be easy to spot because my picture is the same as the pics on the homepage of my blog.

Also, it’s super easy to vote. No need to create a login or submit any of your personal info. You really can vote with 1 click. You can also vote once everyday. ๐Ÿ˜€ Only glitch is I don’t think the voting works on mobile devices. If any of you figure that out let me know!

Have you had any small blessings come your way lately?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Christian Reflections, Running, This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coincidence or Something More?

  1. adamdickson says:

    Sorry, I thought this was a site about triathlon! But at least I’ve learned something about cows. Good luck with the running….

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Ugh, I am so not missing the insane heat and humidity you guys are dealing with! It is hot here (upper 90’s) but the humidity isn’t bad at all. For the first time every (in the summer) I’ve checked the weather to see a temp of 96 with a “real feel” of 92! Its a good thing you have that AC!

    I just searched for Lisa and it looks like you are the only one…and I’ve voted! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. bearrunner says:

    It was hot here on Sunday… Today, typical Nova Scotia weather… You got my vote!

    Cheers

  4. shelby says:

    I voted for ya! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Cassie says:

    Glad you got some AC to help stay cool. While I love summer and heat, the combination of high heat and humidity is intense.

    God’s timing and provision is always enough and is always perfect. Glad you see it that way, too, friend! I love your outlook on life.

    I will be clicking over to vote for you!

  6. 90% humidity…ick. But that would be really fun to see a newborn calf! I will vote for you. I think you’d be a perfect addition!

  7. Bree says:

    I voted too!

    The weather is brutal! Glad you found an AC unit. I can’t imagine being without some relief today.

  8. Dana says:

    I voted for you!!!

Leave a Reply

