1,412 Miles

Greetings from Minnesota, where it was gorgeous weather today. It was sunny, cool breeze, low humidity… I could go on for awhile about the awesomeness.

Our cows, our employees – and us too – really needed a reprieve from the sticky heat.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but I keep a pretty detailed running log. It’s just an excel spreadsheet that I’ve designed to my liking, and I record distance, time and pace (if I’ve taken them), and notes about how my run went.

I’ll sometimes note the weather conditions, and I always try to list any worrisome pain so I can keep track of when and how it may have started.

I attempted throughout my teenage years to record my miles, but usually after a few weeks I would forget or just get bored with it.

On my birthday two years ago, I tried again to start a running log. Maybe it was the spreadsheet format or maybe it was because I started racing and training more about that time, but this particular running log worked.

I’ve kept it faithfully for 2 years, and as of my birthday yesterday the log shows 1,412 miles.

Depending on your own running habits, that number may seem gigantic or pretty tiny.

I won’t offer an opinion. The miles are what they are. I’m proud of those 1,400+ miles. Sure there could be more, but there could also be less.

I’m also fairly impressed that with a few injuries and several months of zero miles in the mix, I still averaged just under 59 miles/month for the past 2 years.

For those of you that really like stats, that’s about 1.93 miles daily.

Hopefully I’ll keep this running log for life. It will be fun to see what the next 2 years bring!

Speaking of birthdays, we had another birthday girl at the farm yesterday.

Meet 3270.

20110712-084323.jpg

She doesn’t have her eartags quite yet, but they’re coming soon.

Oh, one last thought on birthdays.

Beware if you live near your in-laws, a grandparent, and within driving distance of your parents. They may all decide to get you a cake.

After white cake with almonds and icing, turtle cheesecake, and angel food with cream and berries over the past few days, I am happily stuffed.

I’m most grateful for the birthday treats, but I may have maxed out my sweets quota for the month. 🙂

If you’re in my neck of the woods, let me know if you want to stop by. The coffee will be on, and I’ve got some awesome leftover cake to share!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1,412 Miles

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    That is awesome that you keep such a detailed log of your runs. I can’t seem to get in the habit. And I think the 1400+ is pretty darn respectable, especially when you factor in a few months with 0 miles!

    And those cakes sound amazing…it makes me want to bake!

  2. bearrunner says:

    Congratulations!!! 1412 miles is a lot of miles! You shoul dbe proud. The new calf is cute!
    Cheers

  3. KrisB says:

    Happy belated birthday and yay for birthday treats! I would be in a bad situation without an office full of coworkers to pawn them off on.

    That looks like great mileage to me! I am very impressed with your detailed running log.

  4. poeticruse says:

    Happy birthday! I know the feeling about cake; my friends got me a coldstone icecream cake for my birthday, and while I was resolved not to treat my 4th of July vacation as a vacation from eating right, I *mysteriously* ended up eating two pieces!

Leave a Reply

