The Visitors

Greetings from Minnesota. It was sweltering yesterday with severe thunderstorms last night, but today dawned a little cooler. Still, I can already tell it’s going to be another hot one!

You may remember from previous posts that JR and I don’t live on the farm. We live about 10 minutes away and are lucky enough to be near a lake.

Any sizable lake in Minnesota seems to be lined with cabins and summer homes, and ours is no exception. We have a lot of Twin Cities area people who become our neighbors every summer weekend, and many are intrigued by the fact that we are dairy farmers.

Several of them have come out to see the farm if they’re interested, and we try to accommodate as we can.

This weekend we had a neighbor, plus his teen-age granddaughter and her friend both from Minneapolis area, out to the farm.

The girls were a little bit hesitant about everything at first, but soon they’d happily made friends with the calves.

20110711-105144.jpg

Once we started talking they had lots of questions too. They wondered about the ages of the various babies and asked how much feed our adult cows eat when we were back in the main barn. I did some quick mental math and determined that just our adult cows eat over 25,000 lbs of feed every day. I think they were astounded by that.

They also were very curious about why dairy cows look so “bony.” It is definitely true that dairy cows have much more pronounced ribs and bones than a beef cow or steer.

I explained that dairy cows are raised to give milk, and it’s natural and healthy for them to carry less weight. I think any mom that has ever breast-fed can attest to the fact that making milk makes the pounds come off!

Beef cattle are raised for meat, so they are fed higher calorie diets that allow them to put on more weight.

I like to think of dairy cows as the marathoners of the cattle world because they are generally slimmer and more sculpted looking than other cattle. I can also only imagine the workout it must be to make as much milk as some of them do. ๐Ÿ™‚

The other big question the girls asked at the end of our tour was whether I ever wished we didn’t have the cows and farm so we didn’t have to work all the time.

The answer is no, I don’t wish that. I do sometimes imagine how nice it would be to get away for several days without worrying about the farm, but I really do like the animals and the farming way of life.

Here we are inside one of the barns. Sorry for the poor lighting!

20110711-110221.jpg

Running Tales

I got in a solid 7.5 miles on Saturday morning, and Sunday I think it was officially too hot to run – even really early in the morning.

Today the air was cool when I headed out, and I was thankful that at least the storm had cooled things down for us.

I guess God saw fit to give me a nice, cool morning run for my birthday today, and I’m a-okay with that!

I still don’t know that I will get a lot of miles in during July, but I think I’m doing better than I was at this point in June.

Just to give you a heads up, I do have something I’d like from you, my readers, for my birthday. In just a few days I should have the info I need to tell you what it is. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever given anyone an inside look into your work and what your day-to-day job looks like?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Visitors

  1. Jena says:

    Happy Birthday Lisa!!!! That is cool that you allow people to come to the farm to do a tour!
    I have never brought someone to my work, it’s probably a HIPAA violation, and it’s boring to outsiders. I mean, I’m sure the wounds that I see might be fascinating to some, but for the most part I deal with a ton of paper work & that is not exciting at all.

  2. Happy Birthday!
    I am a marketing copywriter so there’s not much to show people. But I did bring my husband to see my office the other day when he had to come pick me up from work due to the thunderstorm that prevented me from biking home. I think it’s fun seeing where people work/what they do.

  3. Dana says:

    Happy Birthday ๐Ÿ™‚ Mine is tomorrow!!!

    I never brought anyone in to my office to show them what I do. I think they would be SO BORED as my job requires alot of analysis and calculations and staring at two computer screens all day long. Come to think of it — I’d much rather work with animals. I keep telling my husband that he needs to start making tons of money so I can volunteer at an animal shelter every day ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kierstan says:

    Happy Happy Birthday!

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    Happy Birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’ve shown people my office space before…but it is never as cool as I talk about it being. I mean, my messy desk doesn’t show off the office drama that gets everyone riled up! Right now my day-to-day life is spent exploring CO and sitting on my laptop applying for jobs…1st half is exciting, 2nd half is mind numbing!

  6. bearrunner says:

    Good job on the running!! If I showed anyone my job, they would be bored out of their tree haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cheers

  7. bearrunner says:

    Cows are the marathoners of the farm world… I liked that ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

