Morning Date with the Track

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a roller coaster of weather today; pouring rain and wind this morning that tapered off into clouds and finally a hot and sunny 80 degree afternoon.

It wasn’t during this morning’s rain that I had a date with the track. Though the rain may have been a welcome change from the hot and humid morning I actually did go. šŸ™‚

Last Friday morning I was determined to get up early, beat the heat, and do some repeats at the local track. Now as the road goes, it’s definitely over 3 miles (maybe closer to 4) to the track from my house. If I take a different road and then part of the bike path, the “scenic route” if you will, then I can get there in just under 2.5 miles.

I feel like that’s a nice distance for a warm-up and cool-down, plus I love the paths on this route, so I ran to the track at an easy pace.

Once I arrived, I was already dripping with sweat. So much for “easy” warmup. I hadn’t brought any water or food because I felt like the morning air was somewhat cool when I started out. Plus, I wasn’t going that far.

I had to navigate around to find which gates were open, and I did a very slow jog to fully catch my breath before I started some repeats.

I suppose I ran slower than I thought and started out a little later than I intended because I was already behind schedule before I even started my track work.

I had planned on running some 800s or maybe a pyramid, but with the heat and my lack of water I decided doing as many 400s as I had time for was my best option.

20110705-075343.jpg

After the first 400, all I could think was water. I felt slow and thirsty, and then I spotted this lovely sight.

20110705-081451.jpg

Thanks God for helping me spot it!

I had a brief moment of wondering whether the water might also contain lawn chemicals a’la this post from Hyperbole and a Half, but I decided not to worry. šŸ˜‰

As I cupped my hands to drink the glorious water, I decided next time I’ll at least remember a water bottle.

I ran several more 400s, finishing with the fastest at 97 seconds. It’s a little disheartening to realize I thought a mid-70’s 400 was slow back in high school.

Honestly though, I’m not a sprinter anymore, and I’m happy I finally hit the track for the first time in way too long!

This run was on July 1, so it didn’t help bolster my June total.

I hesitate to share, but I ran a total of 31.5 miles in June. Guess that just means I’ll have an easy time doubling mileage in July, right?

Is the heat or busy summer schedules also cutting into your mileage lately?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Morning Date with the Track

  1. Nice workout! Lise I get all anxious and uncomfortble just thinking about a track workout. They’re hard.

    I’ve just been taking it easy lately and not even tracking my distance or pace. I know the heat and hills are good for me, so I’ve been putting on my big girl panties and going outside instead of staying on the treadmill.

    Funny how a you’re willing to get a drink (or use the bathroom) in a place you’d never consider any other time. It’s all about survival during those hard runs šŸ™‚

  2. Dana says:

    Great workout Lisa!!! The heat is definitely cramping my style during my outdoor runs šŸ˜¦ At first I was really letting it get me down, but now I realize that I’m not going to be “fast” when it’s 80 and humid outside…I just accept what my body is capable of and go with it!

  3. Bree says:

    Sounds like a great workout! My running has been pretty sad the past two weeks and doesn’t look to get much better this week.

    I haven’t done a track 400 lately, but those that I do with my Garmin are way slower then probably my slowest in high school. I was never a sprinter either, but I doubt I could come close to the 70’s again.

  4. Jena says:

    I’ve never done a track workout, and I don’t plan on it. (bad runner?!) I don’t know where a track is quite honestly. I’ve figured out that running between 7-8 is the best time for me. It’s hot, but tolerable… or it’s been tolerable for the last two week at least. I’m definitely ready for it to cool down though, I really like runs where I can breath properly, those are nice. šŸ˜›

  5. bearrunner says:

    haha, that is awesome that you found the water… Good workout!
    We have just over the past few days experienced humidity… especially in the mornings… Walking into work, I felt like I was walking through a sprinkler. I couldn’t imagine running in it!
    It doesn’t stay hot here long… Our warm weather, especially along the east coast, is very limited. It usually last July/ August but we usually have a rather mild fall up until October. We really have to take advantage of the heat because it is so short. I am hoping to acclimatize quickly to the humidity. I have felt I have had some bad runs lately but I brush them off.
    Glad you got your speed work in

    Cheers

  6. poeticruse says:

    I feel like this is a page out of ‘you know you’re a marathoner when’.
    – You think 3 miles is a nice warm-up & cool-down.
    – You think a 6 mile run with track repeats in the middle qualifies as ‘not out that long’
    – You drink water that was basically mysteriously spurting out of the ground rather than stop running.

    • Lisa says:

      I think your comment may be more eloquent than my post! Honestly, this was one of the more intense workouts I’ve done recently. It seems like 3 miles had become typical lately, so didn’t mean to make this sound so small. If I could just get out of bed earlier, then I could manage longer runs everyday! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

