Summer Nights…

Greetings from Minnesota. The weatherman said it would feel like a “convection oven” today, and it certainly was warm and windy. 80*+ for sure.

Does the title “Summer Nights” also make you think of that first song from Grease? Or maybe it’s just me…

Summer nights for us have meant a lot of yardwork lately, as it’s about the only time of year we have any daylight left when we get home from the farm.

We live on about 1.5 acres that was super overgrown when JR bought it several years ago. If you’ve ever fought with lots of Buckthorn and ancient grape vines, you can empathize I’m sure!

I’ve also finally put in a few flowers, but they really aren’t photo-worthy yet. Maybe in a few weeks.

The other thing we normally do a lot on summer nights is fire up the grill. We haven’t as much as normal yet, but we did finally grilled up our first steaks of the season.

20110629-112211.jpg

Marinated, then grilled and served with steamed sweet red pepper & onion in butter, plus corn and broccoli. This was fabulous.

One note on the broccoli – I do actually like broccoli, but didn’t have much left.

Two notes on the steak – I almost, but not quite, finished this giant T- Bone. I am also a grateful farm girl who appreciates the animals my beef comes from and the important nutrients it gives my runner’s body. πŸ™‚

What better for a summer night than this?

20110629-112853.jpg

I’d never had Red Hook before, but after just one I’ll easily say I recommend it.

Least you think I forgot my dairy, I actually snacked on a hunk of provolone as I prepared the veggies.

Long story short, if you haven’t grilled steak yet this summer you need to. The upcoming 4th may be the perfect time!

What are some of your summertime food favorites?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Gardening and Yard Stuff, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Nights…

  1. Kierstan says:

    Cold watermelon after a looooong run. Just cut a big one in half and give me a fork – I’ll be a happy person for the next hour and I scoop my way to the bottom.

  2. KristieB says:

    I love just about anything on the grill, giant steaks included! Meat, veggies, fruits, and even pizza. Anything that doesn’t require me to cook inside the house.

  3. Cassie says:

    I love that you finished that steak! I could, too…..although I don’t have a runner’s body.

    I kinda live under a rock…….but I’m gonna ask anyway…..what is red hook? Ive never heard of it.

    • Lisa says:

      Guess I should have clarified that it’s beer. πŸ™‚ Based from Seattle; I’ve never had it before either. Summer makes me want to try out new beers though, and it seems like the ones I’ve never heard of are often good!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Grilling is kind of a big deal for us too – we’ve only been in our new place a few days and the grill has already been set up and used! I think grilling is the only “seasonal” eating that we do…

  5. bearrunner says:

    Mmm Nothing beats the BBQ! I love summer nights and dayz too!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

