A side of mud with that?

Greeting from Minnesota! We didn’t get more than a few sprinkles of rain today, but we’ve had multiple inches so far this week.

It was also about 50 degrees. Okay, maybe it warmed up a bit this afternoon, but still. Summer, where are you hiding?

Instead of writing about our grey skies and muddy ground, I thought I’d share a quick peek.

20110623-100232.jpg.

20110623-100524.jpg

20110623-100550.jpg

In case you missed it a few posts back, yes we are adding on to one of our barns.

The construction guys are making surprisingly quick progress in spite of the rain!

On wet days, new baby calves are happy to be warm and dry inside hutches I think.

This still damp little one was sporting quite the milk mustache when I finished feeding. Plus, aren’t you jealous of those lashes??

20110623-102815.jpg

Running Tales

Readers, I have been quite the sloth lately in the running dept.

Do you know how many mornings this week I’ve managed to get up early enough to run?

One.

It’s not even that I don’t want to run. I’m starting to crave if, but most mornings I’ve been so exhausted I don’t even hear my alarm until it’s been ringing 1/2 hour.

At that point, I’m so behind schedule I just figure my body must need the minutes of extra sleep. Sigh.

To be candid, I haven’t been in a good or normal running routine since the marathon. I took some recovery time, then got sick, then last weekend was fortunate enough to run a decent 10K.

Tomorrow I will be out there with my running shoes on. And, I will give a running tales update on it no matter how it goes. 🙂

After all, how can I not take advantage of our currently cool mornings when I know some of you have summer heat at over 100?

How do you get out of “sloth mode” with your running?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A side of mud with that?

  1. shelby says:

    Aww, what a cute baby! How do you not get attached to them and invite them into the house? Haha.

    I’ve been a sloth lately too. I’m calling it June Laziness and just rolling with it. 🙂 I think you’re fine to take a little break! You had a big spring racing season!

    • Lisa says:

      Sometimes in the winter I really do want to bring them in. 🙂 Luckily I know they are well cared for (and probably happiest) outside!

  2. Jena says:

    I have no idea how to get out of sloth mode. I’ve been there for a while now. I just don’t feel like it; I don’t even have a good excuse like “I work on a farm 20hrs a day.” I’m just feeling lazy and tired all the dang time. Chris is wanting to run with me, so that got me out that door once this week, and probably again today.

  3. Dana says:

    Sloth Mode is the WORST!! I’ve been there plenty of times during my running “career”. I like to tell myself that it’s just my body’s subconscious way of letting me know I need some time off and it’s not just me being lazy.
    Usually putting a race on the calendar gets me back in the mood again 🙂

  4. you’re in good (?. assuming that i’m good) company regarding not being in a regular running mode post-marathon. i feel like i’m just plodding along. i figure that in reality i’ve been training hard from june 2010 to april 2011 (boston) so a little blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah right now is okay. at least that’s what i keep telling myself!

  5. poeticruse says:

    It’s all about goals, set yourself a mileage goal, a fall race, or even sign up for another marathon next year. Having something on the horizon makes all the difference.

  6. bearrunner says:

    its not hard to roll back over… I do it every morning ha!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

