An unlikely mix and an unlikely view

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a rainy afternoon and evening here, probably high 50’s. This made for a wet, cold Lisa by the end of nightly chores.

I’ve got a few things to share tonight, one with more long-term significance than the other, but both are interesting. I promise!

Below is a picture of our dog Calvin. My running partner and our farm companion, he has quickly molded into our lives (and hearts) these past few months. After the sad loss of our bulldog Wellington, it has proven to be a true blessing to give a home and a fresh start to a dog in need.

20110614-104724.jpg

I think God knew we needed him, and he needed us. The question we always get is, “what is he?”

We were never really sure, but our best guess was some sort of shepherd mixed with American Staffordshire terrier.

My mother-in-law was more curious than anyone, and she has a brother-in-law who happens to be a small animal vet.

At his veterinary practice, one of the things he now offers is breed analysis based on a blood sample. Tests are run to look for different markers that can identify everything from a purebred up to 8 different great-grandparent breeds.

I’ll leave you in suspense for a moment, but if you stay with me to the end of the post I’ll tell you what he is. πŸ™‚

First, I want to show you some unlikely views.

20110614-105538.jpg

20110614-105615.jpg

20110614-105646.jpg

It’s definitely not everyday we have a giant payloader behind our grazing cows or a wall being taken out of the end of the barn.

We’re currently building an addition to our first barn, so we’ll be dealing with construction stuff for some time this summer.

I’m always amazed by how fast it comes together though. Early last month we’d hardly started moving dirt because it was so wet, and now we’ve got rafters up!

Okay, no more suspense about Calvin. I’ll give you the details we got:

-Parent 1 = half English Bulldog, half Dalmatian

That seemed like a truly odd combination to me, but apparently “Bullmatians” are a designer breed that’s starting to gain in popularity.

-Parent 2 = Lab mix

But there’s more to it than that. One grandparent was a Labrador and the other is a mixed breed made up of (but not limited too) Miniature Pinscher, Sheltie, Japanese Spitz, American Staffordshire Terrier, and Pug.

That’s a lot if breeds for one little dog!

Now that we know, I’ve got to agree it makes some sense. It also amazing how much more you can see if you know what traits or features you should be looking for.

If you run with a dog, what breed(s)?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Calvin, Cows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An unlikely mix and an unlikely view

  1. shelby says:

    Wow, I’m no dog expert but I never would have guessed most of those breeds! How big is Calvin? He totally looks like an Am Staff to me, too!

    And he is gorgeous, BTW! πŸ™‚

    • Lisa says:

      He’s right around 50 pounds, and we’re guessing he’s full-grown by now. Our vet who neutered him thought Am Staff mix as well. I’ll deliver your compliment to him. πŸ™‚

  2. That blood analysis is pretty neat! Interesting to find out how many different breeds your pup is!

  3. Jena says:

    Wow, that is a lot of breeds. I wouldn’t have thought that is possible, but I guess when you mix and mix and mix that’s what you come out with. I’m really curious as to what Wyatt is, but not curious enough to pay money to have his blood tested. I think he is some kind of Am Staff, or American Pit Bull….mixed with boxer at some point down the line. He is so playful and bounces around like a boxer. He’s about 60lbs. I don’t run w/ him. I’ve tried.Once. But that was awhile back and per the H&F board he was still to young… Now it’s way to dang hot. I took him for a walk last night (2 miles) and his tongue was practically dragging the ground. We left for our walk at 8:30. ew.

    (aaaand that’s the longest comment ever.)

  4. runblondie26 says:

    Wow, it’s crazy what science makes possible these days. Cute pup!

  5. We run with our two dogs – one is a 30 lb Australian Cattle Dog/Shiba Inu mix (but she’s FAST) and the other is a hound/lab mix (equally fast but will be more like 45-50 lbs once she’s fully grown).

  6. Lauren says:

    I run with our two – Lola is a GSP-mix & Kota is a GSP. Lola is ~53ish lbs. & Kota is ~61lbs. Together they are great pacers – i just pray they don’t see bunnies, cats, squirrels on our run πŸ™‚ Their prey drive is crazy!

  7. danicastacijo says:

    I jog with mine too and he loves it, hes definitely lab, but we think he has either pitbull or rottweiler or some other big dog. He has a pretty square head and he is about 90lbs, a little over weight but we are working on it :).

  8. danicastacijo says:

    I jog with mine too and he loves it, hes definitely lab, but we think he has either pitbull or rottweiler or some other big dog. He has a pretty square head, he is such a sweetie and he is about 90lbs, a little over weight but we are working on it :).

Leave a Reply

