The Big Move

Greetings from Minnesota. It was cooking outside today with high humidity and temperatures near 90. Welcome to summer.

Now before you misinterpret my title, I’m not moving or going anywhere. I’m just talking about moving cows.

Summertime means our dry cows go out on pasture, and yesterday we moved about 60 of them outside.

I suppose it might be helpful if I explain what I mean by a dry cow?

A dry cow is a cow that has stopped giving milk prior to having a calf. Once a cow has a calf, she will give milk for about 10 months, 305 days is ideal.

Then she will dry up, or quit giving milk, for 50-60 days to prepare for giving birth.

It was super windy yesterday during the move, but I still convinced JR to snap a few photos.

20110603-085850.jpg

20110603-085931.jpg

20110603-090009.jpg

The next big thing we’re preparing for at the farm is chopping hay. Expect some details and pictures soon.

Running Tales

I don’t have any real running tales tonight, as I’ve actually been feeling rather under the weather. Apparently a few extra rest days are in order.

But, I think I’ve got something even better than running tales. Today I’m being featured by Shelby over at Eat, Drink, Run Thanks Shelby!

Shelby is a seriously amazing runner, so I highly recommend checking out her blog to get your fix on all things running.

While you’re at it, you can get her take on what’s good to eat and drink, plus check out my dairy cow Q&A posted today.

Can’t really think of a good question to go along with this post, but I do want to give a shout out for some awesome giveaways. Check out Life is Beachy Keen to learn how you can win some fab sunglasses. To enter an awesome raffle (fundraiser for American Cancer Society through Team DetermiNation) visit Walk a mile in my boots.

Have a good weekend all!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Big Move

  1. bearrunner says:

    Sounds fun.. I remember having to round up the cows that got loose… Expecially around the time the corn was on
    You deserve a running break!

    cheers

Leave a Reply

