June is Dairy Month

Greetings from Minnesota. We’ve had a sunny, breezy day to mark the arrival of June. Though you may not know it, June is also dairy month!

I suppose it’s because I live in a rural area, but June Dairy Month promotions are everywhere. It’s rather exciting to get free ice cream at the bank or a coupon at the grocery store and realize that I’m a part of this great dairy community. Have you seen any dairy month promos in your area?

Running Tales

I haven’t run a lot since the marathon, but it’s really more because of general busyness than anything. I’m happy to report that I don’t feel burnt out on running.

My legs still feel more sluggish than normal, but I did have a decent run in mid 9:00’s pace this morning that inspired some confidence. I’m hoping to do some shorter races throughout the summer, so I need to get back to some speedwork.

Summer mornings are a great time for track workouts, and I think I’ve got 400m and 800m repeats calling my name!

The details on May:

  • 95.2 miles run
  • 174.9 miles on my current shoes

I had hoped to crack 100 again this month, but with my easy taper due to knee worries I didn’t quite get there. I really haven’t put too much pressure on myself to run far post-marathon either. 4.3 miles has been my longest, but I’m planning for at least 6 this weekend.

In addition to being the start of dairy month, today is also National Running Day. Happy running day; I hope you got in your miles. šŸ™‚

For more running tales, you can check out my newly created “Running PRs” page. I also did an overhaul to my “About” page a few weeks ago, so take a look if you haven’t already.

Is your summer race calendar filling up yet?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to June is Dairy Month

  1. I think I’m taking the summer off racing and will get back into it this fall–it’s too humid around here for me, and I want to focus on swimming and lifting and a more balanced approach!

    I have not seen any dairy promos around here, but I would be thrilled if I did. I ā¤ dairy!

  2. bearrunner says:

    You deserve to be recognized (Dairy month) for all the wonder foods and goods dairy farmers give us… Ice cream, chocolate milk… Mmmmmm šŸ™‚
    It’s a good opportunity to take a well deserved break following the marathon… Track workouts are my least favorite
    cheers

  3. Dana says:

    I learn something new every day! I had no idea that June was Dairy Month and I’m hoping that there are promos in my area. I love anything dairy šŸ™‚ Cheese is my weakness.

  4. Kathy Kluthe says:

    I haven’t seen any promos in my area… but I’ll keep an eye out! My summer race calendar is more full than it’s ever been – I’m doing 1 sprint tri tomorrow and another a week from Sunday. Then planning on another sprint 7/17, warrior dash on 8/21, and oly tri on 8/28. Should be fun!

    • Lisa says:

      That is a full summer; exciting! I look forward to living vicariously through your blog šŸ™‚ (As I doubt I will do a tri anytime soon…)

Leave a Reply

