Meanwhile, Back at the Farm

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s overcast /rainy and mid-50’s today. It sounds like we’re in for a stormy memorial day weekend.

I feel like my blog has been taken over by marathon musings lately, probably because my brain has been so wrapped around thoughts of the race.

I’ve been neglecting the cow and farm
part of my blog, but I can assure you that work has continued here at the farm in spite of my marathon madness. 🙂

I know I’ve said it’s been a late year for planting, and that is still holding true.

We still have part of one field left because it is just too wet. We could get the tractor and planter stuck in this particularly muddy field. The soil has very little sand and a lot of clay, so it retains a lot of moisture.

While this is great when it’s dry, it’s problematic when you have a lot of rain, such as this spring.

Most of our fields have more sand in the soil, so they drain better. Those are already planted, and we even have corn coming up in several fields.

20110527-123926.jpg

We had a busy day yesterday working on the important spring task of picking rocks.

Rock picking involves driving around fields and literally picking up and hauling away any rocks. Anything bigger than about softball size is fair game.

While some of our fields are fairly rock-free, others seem to have plenty of rocks surface every year.

20110527-101845.jpg

We brought our ATV, plus a tractor and trailer to the fields to haul away rocks with.

Well, that’s probably enough farming talk for tonight. Let’s hope this rain stops soon.

I’ll update on the happenings with our calves and cows soon.

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Crops and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meanwhile, Back at the Farm

  1. This rain is driving me crazy! Just about everyone in SE Iowa has their veggie gardens planted and I have yet to get anything in the ground. I am starting to freak out that is it almost too late…I am praying for some dry weather this afternoon/tomorrow.

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Getting the crops in is always a challenge – and this spring has been a mess! The stinking rain needs to stop. We get tons of snow and now nonstop rain.

    Have fun with the rock picking…that is always a back breaker but I think it doubles as an upper body strength training session!

  3. bearrunner says:

    I remember rock picking and planting… This spring has been wet. Hope the corn grows tall!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

