A Little Bit of Sun

Greetings from Minnesota! It was a gorgeous day, with sunny skies and a cooling breeze.

Though I may not be as ready for summer as I think. My face is sporting a pink tinge, and my lips are true sun-burned red. Ouch! Before you start scolding me, I did put sunscreen on my face. And, I put on chapstick that I thought contained SPF. Apparently not. I need to get better at reading labels…

While I may not look too red to you, I can assure you my pale Scandinavian face doesn’t normally have cherry red lips or pink cheeks. 🙂

Anyhow, enough about my complexion. It was a very summery day on the farm, and we spent a lot of it moving calves around. We just moved between pens today, but tomorrow we’ll start moving some of the oldest calves from hutches to group pens.

To have an empty pen, we’ve got to move a group out, and then clean and re-bed the pen. And when we move out from hutches, they’ve got to be washed and then lined up into new rows with fresh bedding as well. Sometimes it seems like we’re always in some stage of moving animals around, which we probably are…

It’s hard to think about stopping and taking pictures when we’re busy, so sorry for the lack of photos in this post. I will definitely  get some new pictures of spring (practically summer now) at the farm soon.

Running Tales

Nervous and excited pretty much sums up how I feel. Fargo is THIS WEEKEND. So, give me your advice. What are some words of wisdom I need to know for my first marathon??

Also, thanks for all the comments about the iPod. I think I will probably stash it in a pocket somewhere, and just not use it unless I really need a boost. With that said, what are your must-have running songs? I’ve got a pretty good mix, but I was lucky enough to win some goodies from Sam @ Walk A Mile in My Boots including a iTunes gift card. (Thank you!!) So, I can buy some new tunes. Thoughts?

Have a great night all!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Little Bit of Sun

  1. bearrunner says:

    Wow, are you ever cute!!!!

    Biggest word of advice… Start out slow! If you think you are going too slow, go slower! You will appreciate it when you reach 36k +
    You will nail it!

    cheers

  2. bearrunner says:

    42,2k is a long distance, you have lots of time to make up the time! (forgot that part)

    Cheers

  3. Dana says:

    I can’t believe it’s THIS WEEKEND!! You are going to do so well…I just know it 🙂
    Advice (even though I’m not yet a marathoner): take it all in and don’t stress so much on time/pace. This is your FIRST and you’ll never get it back so make sure it’s a great experience (which I’m sure it will be!)
    GOOD LUCK!!

  4. Brit says:

    Good luck this weekend! You’re going to kill it!

  5. lauren says:

    I agree – don’t worry about time at all, just enjoy each and every step! 🙂 I had so much fun during my marathon! Can’t wait to hear your recap!

  6. Kierstan says:

    I will ditto starting slow – don’t get caught up in the hoopla of the start!

    I am going to bring a little bag of 12 jelly beans (or something of the like) to reward myself with every 1/2 mile for the last 6 miles. My friend did this a few years ago and it helped to keep her legs running! 🙂 It’s the little things, right?!

    What time are you going to get to Fargo?

  7. Jena says:

    AHH I can’t believe it’s already time for your marathon. It seems like just yesterday you decided to actually register!!

    I have no advice since I’ve never run one, but everyone else’s advice looks good.

    I will be anxiously awaiting your update.. (you should tweet when you are done. I will be stalking twitter all day!!!)

    • Lisa says:

      I know, the time has gone fast! And I’ll definitely tweet ASAP after the race. It’s cool to think that you (and maybe others) will be waiting for my tweet. 🙂 So thank you!

  8. Kathy Kluthe says:

    My favorite music for running to is Lady Gaga, Britney Spears, and the rock-out songs by Carrie Underwood and Kelly Clarkson like Undo it and My Life Would Suck Without You.

    Good luck – I’m sure you’ll do great!

    • Lisa says:

      You’re a girl after my own heart. 🙂 I have plenty of Lady GaGa on my playlist, and I just downloaded some more Kelly songs last week. I may even have something by Britney. 😉

  9. Enjoy the gift card and other goodies!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks; I am! I hope to make time to give myself a little pedi and paint my
      toes before the race with the great stuff you sent too. 🙂

  10. Good luck this weekend!

Leave a Reply

