Closure

Greetings from Minnesota. I think we’ve skipped spring entirely because summer seems to be here. It’s sticky, humid, and we hit 80* this afternoon.

I don’t have a lot to say tonight. Instead, I’m doing a lot of reflecting and feeling rather low.

If you’ve followed along on my blog for the last few months, you probably remember this guy:

Wellington: The Best Dog

We’ve had some closure in the saga of the missing bulldog. JR and his dad found what remained of Wellington’s body today. A few weeks back, I thought maybe it would be better to know for sure what happened. Now, I realize that deep-down, I was still holding onto a shred of hope. 

I hoped he’d just wandered too far away, and now he was sharing his love with a family that needed him. Not the case.
 
There is no more shred of hope, and we’ve got to accept that he really is gone. I promise not to turn into a dreary blogger forever, but when I sat down to write tonight this is all I could think about.
 
Goodbye Welle. You were a great dog – the best dog, in fact. God truly blessed us when we got you. We didn’t have you for as long as we wanted, but I will always treasure the days you were here with us.
 
I hope you all have had a brighter day.  I’ll be back soon with more tales from the farm and marathon tapering.
 
 
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That, Wellington and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Closure

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Big hugs to you.

  2. Rebecca says:

    So sorry about Wellington. Sounds like he had a great life!

  3. sweatykid says:

    I’m so sorry, Lisa.

  4. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I’m very sorry, Lisa.

  5. Brit says:

    Lisa, I am so sad for you and JR. What heartbreaking news.

  6. Cassie says:

    Oh Lisa. This is sad and you have every reason to feel low and express it on your blog.

    Poor Welle…..

    Closure is always bittersweet. Hope you have a brighter day today, too…

  7. Dana says:

    Lisa I’m so sorry 😦

  8. runblondie26 says:

    Oh no Lisa, I’m so sorry. I’m heartbroken for you.

  9. Lisa says:

    Thanks everyone; your comments mean a lot. We burried him in a nice, shady spot late last night, and even though it was terribly sad, I know it was an important closure step too. It’s just crazy how much more it makes us miss him again.

  10. I’m so sorry about Wellington.

  11. lauren says:

    This breaks my heart. I am so sorry to hear this. Prayers for you & JR.

  12. Carolyn H. says:

    This breaks my heart. Stay strong. I can’t even imagine. RIP Wellington.

  13. KristieB says:

    Lisa, I’m so sorry! I was still holding out hope for you for a happier ending. 😦 Huge hugs and prayers of peace for you and your family.

  14. Bree says:

    I’m so sorry Lisa. Hoping you find peace over time.

  15. Ugh! So so sorry to hear about this, but at least now you know. Every time I saw a dog that looked like Wellington, I thought to myself…do you think he could have made it all the way to Iowa in that time?! Sooo so sorry that things didn’t end differently.

  16. Courtenay says:

    I am so sorry, Lisa. Know that I am thinking of you…

  17. Heidi Nicole says:

    Oh! I’m so sorry! Sometimes answers suck! But at least he is now in a shady spot by a tree…

  18. Brittany says:

    I am so sorry! I know it helps to have the closure, but it makes all the heartache come back. I hope things start to look up.

  19. poeticruse says:

    Losing a pet is so hard. Say goodbye to Wellington from all your blogger friends out here.

  20. I’m so sorry for the loss sweetie. Lots of hugs and prayers!

  21. Cassie says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  22. bearrunner says:

    Awww that is sad… I am knew to the blog but went back, what an adorable dog! I can see how he would be missed… You can remember and laugh all the times he chased the cows!

    Cheers

    • Lisa says:

      Ah yes, he did like to chase the cows if they were out in the pasture. He would usually listen if we told him no, but man did he ever love to run. 🙂

  23. Lori says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss 😦

  24. Lisa says:

    Thanks so much to you all.

  25. Pingback: Seven Things | Cow Spots and Tales

  26. Pingback: The Boo Makes Four | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

