Sounds Glamorous, Yes?

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s a humid, overcast day, and we had some light thunderstorms this morning. We need the weather to be dry for a bit!

Thanks to all for the many encouraging comments you wrote on my previous post. My job change will definitely be a big transition, and it’s always nice to hear positive feedback!

I must also admit I was surprised by how many of you said you were a wee bit jealous of my farming endeavor. ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose it does sound nice to be your own boss and work in the great outdoors. It’s a lifestyle I’ve grown up with and come to love, but I just never imagined farming sounded so appealing to others.

Just to balance out the pros, I will say that working with your in-laws or family presents its own challenges, and the great outdoors can be both beautiful and harsh depending on the weather. Though there is still office and computer work on farms, so even farmers get in from the elements sometimes.

But back to my point, I do find it interesting (and cool) that so many of you see farming as a positive career. We all need food, and I take a lot of pride in being able to help provide a small bit of it.

 Sometimes when the days get long and the work gets hard, it’s easy to lose sight of the bigger picture.  Because the truth is that farming isn’t always glamorous (smelling like cows or having manure on your boots isn’t exactly a fashion statement). ๐Ÿ˜‰

But on most days, I do realize my place as one of many American farmers helping to feed people. I know it’s important work, and it’s an important part of my life.

That’s probably enough philosophy talk for now. How about a picture? I thought you all might enjoy a mother’s day baby photo. Baby looks very much like mama, and both are doing well.

Mother's Day Baby

Running Tales

The short update is I ran a little over 12 miles on Saturday, and I felt pretty good. I did the first 8 miles solo – with rain during the second half.

Then, I went back home to get Calvin the dog. I took him out for something over 4. I probably could have taken him further, but with the rain he kept having to stop and shake himself off. I’m glad I only dealt with that for 4 miles instead of 12!

I’m feeling more confident about Fargo than I was last week, but the nervousness is also beginning to set in…

Only 12 more days until Fargo.

Questions, comments, what-have-you about farming?

Thoughts or comments on tapering for a first marathon?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sounds Glamorous, Yes?

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Are you a John Deere or Case International girl? Or something else?

    That really is a burning question that I have…it will determine whether we can be friends or not! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I mentioned before that I really miss farming, and I do…for the most part. I don’t miss having a faint scent of “farm” in my hair at all times, no matter how many times I washed it. I don’t miss feed calves in the pour rain (what we had this morning). I don’t miss getting my boot sucked right off in shin deep mud. Okay…maybe I miss the concept of farming more than the actual job! Evenso, I think it is awesome that you are heading to the farm full time!

    • Lisa says:

      Well… Growing up I was always very much a John Deere kinda girl! I still like my tractors green, but we actually have red and green on my H’s farm just based on our needs and the best deals on various machinery when we needed it. Can we still be friends? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Heidi Nicole says:

        As long as you prefer the green (even if its just the color…) we can be friends! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        We had green, red and blue on our farm – it really did all depend upon price and practicality, but we always stood by our green!

      • Lisa says:

        Yes, I do prefer the green. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Heidi’s question made me laugh out loud.

    I’m glad you were able to get in a successful 12miler this last weekend. I guess you didn’t have to much pain? Hopefully that is all gone now!

    Are you getting nervous about your marathon. I was wondering Sunday if your race was next weekend.. but I guess it’s the wknd after. You are going to do great.

    I wish I had a travel budget, I’d love to come see the farm!

    • Lisa says:

      The knee is feeling pretty good. Most days I don’t even notice anything was wrong, so I’m hopeful it feels good on race day. And yes, if you’re ever in Minnesota be sure to let me know!

  3. runblondie26 says:

    It sounds like an awesome amount of responsibility, but also incredibly rewarding. I’m so excited for you! I’m fascinated learning what’s it’s like to be a career dairy farmer. The only thing the public sees these days are the inflammatory “documentary” type movies.

    • Lisa says:

      Sadly, I suppose you are right about the public mostly seeing farms through the type of documentaries you mention. Hopefully my blog can help shed some light on the real story!

  4. poeticruse says:

    12 days till fargo! You’re almost there. Don’t be nervous; your training is behind you, and now you just need to keep your muscles loose, and your head up.

    As far as farming goes, I am not sure I could stand all that ‘fresh air’ but I admire that you have a long term goal that makes you happy. I wish you and your family the best in making the farm a success!

    (p.s. As far as I know, one key measure of farm success is Daily Output of Adorable Calf Pictures.)

  5. FARGO FARGO FARGO!!

    So excited {and nervous} for the race!!

  6. i think you should feed meeeeeeeeee. just saying.

    you’ve probably mentioned this before but how much of your farming is for you vs other people?

Leave a Reply

