A New Chapter

Greetings from Minnesota. It was rainy this morning and sunny in the afternoon. The old adage, “If you don’t like the weather in Minnesota, just wait 10 minutes” seems to be true today!

Last week I alluded to the fact that I would be making a change soon. Soon is coming quick. If you know me “in real life”  you’ve probably already heard that I am soon to be a full-time farmer!

Even though I spend a lot of hours at the farm, it’s currently not my full-time job. I have a day job (which I love) that keeps me busy during normal business hours. My job is related to agriculture, and I so appreciate all the great people I’ve met and all the things I’ve learned during the years I’ve been here.

Now the time has come for me to make a change. We are currently short a person at the farm, and JR and I have been talking a lot about how the farm is really our biggest long term goal. It needs to come first, and it seems to be the right time for me to transition to full-time farm responsibilities.

It’s bittersweet for me to say goodbye to my co-workers, but I do know I’m making a good choice. The farm will hopefully be our lifelong work, and I need to become more involved in both the day-to-day tasks and the bigger decisions and plans we will need to make for the future.

Another perk is that I’ll get to spend more time outside in this beautiful spring weather. I will say that once it’s 90 degrees in July, I’m sure I will miss the comforts of an air-conditioned office. 😉

So after next week, I’ll be working on sorting out a new schedule and routine. I would be lying if I didn’t admit I was nervous for such a big change. I need to make sure I’m doing my best at the farm, and I know there will be things to learn.

I also hope to carve out enough of a routine that I have a standard time for running, for keeping up on household necessities, and for sitting down once in a while. The scary thing about any family business is that it really can consume all of your free time if you let it.

Somewhere, there lies a delicate balance between working hard to do your best and simply working too much. I hope to enjoy the journey while I get it figured out (because figuring out the balance may be a lifelong journey!)

Wish me luck. I definitely plan to keep blogging as much as I can.  I may even have more and better photos and stories from the farm to share because I’ll be spending more time there.

Last night though, I did get what I thought to be a good photo:

Last night I decided this may be the cutest, fuzziest calf ever. (But, I might think that about a lot of them.)

 P.S. On a whim last  night, I decided to enter the world of twitter. I haven’t said much yet, but feel free to follow along during this new chapter as I learn to tweet @ dairycowgal.

Have a great night all!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A New Chapter

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Is it weird that I’m a little bit jealous of your new full time farm job. I think that sounds totally cool and fun. Lol. I’m sure it will be anything but fun some days! It does sound very interesting, and exciting. I definitely look forward to reading about what your day-to-day tasks will consist of!

    Good Luck, and congrats on your new position!

    Does J work @ the farm full time?

  2. Very neat. I know all about the family business consuming all of your free time. Luckily, ours, maple syrup, is only a few months of the year! Good luck with the change. Hope the adjustment goes smoothly!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Yah…you will definitely be missing the offices in July! Good luck with the transition! I am really excited for you and I’m excited to hear about your days! As I think about it I get a little bit jealous…in comparison to how our family farm was run growing up I’m am extremely jealous of how well run your farm is! From the milk pasteurizer for the calves to the little warming hut you have I am always intrigued!

  4. that old adage is true here in new england too!

    and that is an adorable calf. i may have “awwwwwwww”‘d aloud just now.

  5. shelby says:

    Congrats! What an exciting development for you and your business! I hope you’ll keep blogging about the farm stuff? Because I think it’s fun to read!

    *head scratches to fuzzy calf noggin*

  6. Carolyn H. says:

    Super excited! I think you are going into this next phase with a great mental attitude. Best of luck!

  7. Dana says:

    Congrats on entering a new phase of your life! I’m a little jealous…I think I’d love to work on a farm 🙂

    That is the absolute cutest pic! Reminds me of Omar….LOL!

  8. Brit says:

    That is so exciting for you! Congratulations! I’m sure that you with focus you can have a great work/life balance.

    We have the same saying about the weather in Indiana!

  9. Kierstan says:

    Congratulations!! We’ll have a lot to celebrate in Fargo, huh?! New job, PRs…!

  10. lauren says:

    Congratulations – that is a big decision to make! My sister/brother-in-law have their own business and are careful about not making it their 24/7 lives…it is difficult.

    Look forward to hearing about your transition!

  11. Lisa says:

    @everyone- thanks so much for all the encouraging comments. It really makes me smile as I read them. 🙂

  12. Bree says:

    How very exciting! I have no idea what all goes into a days work on your farm, but I can’t help but be jealous too. There is something exciting about being your own boss even though it may mean more work. Congrats to you both!

  13. bearrunner says:

    What a cute calf! Great job during the summer months.. more time to train!

    cheers

Leave a Reply

