I sure hope it’s character building!

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s the first nice day we’ve had recently, and the 50 degree temperatures feel downright balmy.

On Sunday, the weather felt like my arch nemesis. I sure hope it’s character building to care for cows, work outside, and go running in extreme wind!

Sunday morning the weather was anything but pleasant. It had been rainy and windy on Saturday, and numerous farm tasks kept me busy enough that I knew running would have to wait until Sunday. I figured one extra rest day was probably good for my knee, and the weather was bound to be a little better on Sunday, right??

Not so much. After dealing with chilly weather for Sunday morning chores, I put on long pants, 3 top layers, and gloves, plus covered my ears. I clipped the leash onto a very excited little dog, and I prepared for my first longer run in almost 2 weeks.

I just told myself that my 20-miler had been a windy day, and I had hardly noticed it. Surely I could get “in the zone”, and all would be fine. And it was. Up until I turned around.

See… I though the wind was blowing straight from the west. So my strategy was to run about .5 miles west and then made a turn onto a north/south road. I would avoid most of the direct wind, and then I’d have a nice tailwind for the last .5 miles coming home. 

I thought I was doing great as I ran south, but when I turned back to head north, I had a rude awakening. The wind was most definitely blowing hard from the northwest. It was also somewhere around 35 degrees.

I had turned around at just over 5 miles because I didn’t want to overexert my dog. He appears to have boundless energy and didn’t even seem winded after 5 miles last week. I figured it was safe to take him 10 miles if I brought water for him and carefully observed him so I could turn back early if he looked tired. Then, I would go back out for a few more miles by myself.

Well, it’s a blessing I turned around after 5 miles because I fought the wind tooth and nail the whole way back. I’m hoping poor Calvin didn’t get quite as much wind because he’s obviously lower to the ground. For my part, I felt like I was moving backwards at times. This 10 miles was harder than my 18-miler and my 20-miler.

Even though it wasn’t an actual long run, it was still 10 miles and my longest since my knee starting acting up. Plus, I think all that wind resistance has got to count for something!

I am also happy to report that Calvin the amazing has suffered no ill effects from the windy run, and he’s still a happy bundle of energy.

As for me, I am definitely worried about not doing the 15+ miles I had wanted. Now I should be in taper mode, and I didn’t have a strong last long run. 😦  But, the bright side is my knee is feeling okay. It’s still a little sore, but not any worse. I think I can probably continue on with running and not be quite as worried that my knee is going to blow up.

Now I just need to decide if can run 13-15 next weekend, or if I’m better off sticking with the 12 miles on my original plan. Thoughts??

It's hard to capture "windy" in a picture, but here's the best I could do!

Just so I don’t sound like a total whiner, let’s end this post with a nice, happy picture. This gal spent her day inside, and I have a feeling she was glad for it!

Did you have wild weather this past weekend too?

Any thoughts on how far my long run should be next weekend?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I sure hope it’s character building!

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Sorry you had to deal with all that wind. I hate running in the wind too. Our weather was normal this weekend. Hot & Sunny. Very Florida like.

    I’ve obviously never run a marathon, and I’m not even running right now so you can just ignore what I say; but I think you’ve already done the hard work (the 18 & 20 milers). I think if you want to set a goal to run 15mi this weekend with the understanding that if you knee starts to bother you, then you should cut it short, you should do that. 15 mi is only 2 more miles(approx 20 min) than 13. Do whatever you feel comfortable with.

    Good Luck & I’m glad that your knee is feeling better.

  2. sweatykid says:

    You are a champ. I am sorry to hear about the weather and the knee. I’d mentally stick with the 12 on the plan and then when you hit twelve, tack on the extras if your knee is feeling okay. Whenever you’re dealing with the tricky injury stuff, less really is more if you want to make it to the starting line healthy!

  3. bearrunner says:

    It always seems windy here, everyday.. I don’t like running in the wind either. Whens the race? Are you tapering now??

    Ha ha Calvin, I like that name… I am glad he survived the run, he was protected from the ground being so close to it.
    Good job on the 10 miles

    cheers

  4. runblondie26 says:

    I’d err on the side of caution and set out with 12 in mind. If your knee is really feeling ok (be honest!) then go for more. Training is cumulative, a few miles in run one won’t make or break a greta training cycle. Aggravating an injury will.

    It’s so weird seeing you talk about temps in the 50’s. Your late spring is like our winter here. I’ll gladly take some of that chilly weather if you’ll send it our way 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      We are definitely having a cold spring. The 30 degrees I ran in on Sunday was NOT normal. I’ll send you some cool weather, but then I want it back by July! Even though I’m ready for it to warm up, I really don’t want the 80-90 degrees of real summer yet.

  5. Dana says:

    Running against the wind STINKS!!! I can’t believe Calvin ran 10 miles!!! That’s awesome 🙂

    I would probably do 12 miles next week and if you feel good, maybe increase just a tad. I don’t think it’ll make or break you at this point in your training but you don’t want to be sidelined with your knee.

    I am so excited for you and your first marathon!!!!!

    • Lisa says:

      Yes, Calvin is a trooper! I was worried about taking him too far, but I know he would run and play for hours if I let him and he looked good the whole way. (better than me probably!) He must have had a good aerobic base from wherever he came from. 😀

  6. Lisa says:

    Sigh. I know you all (Dana, Blondie, SK, Jena, and Bear) are right. The extra miles won’t make or break me, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t worried that my 20 mile was 5 weeks before marathon day….

    I will probably plan on 12, but give myself enough time that I can do a few extra miles if I HONESTLY feel good! Thanks all.

  7. Brit says:

    I’m excited for you that Calvin is such a great runner!

    I agree with everyone else that conservative is probably better when you are at this point in your training plan. You have laid down countless training miles, you’ll do great on race day no matter what you do from here on out!

  8. Bree says:

    Yay for a running partner!

    You know my story…the rain was my big weather contender this weekend. My neighbor ran the Lake Minnetonka 1/2 marathon on Sunday morning. I talked to her yesterday and she said it was terrible. It’s a hilly course and with the open water nearby I can only imagine how windy it was!

    10 miles is a long run to me 🙂

  9. Heidi Nicole says:

    Ugh, Sunday was horrible! The Eau Claire marathon and half was Sunday morning. I was going to head out to spectate but when the wind (and snow and rain!) woke me up at 5am I changed my mind! I feel a little bad for slacking with the whole spectating thing, but I sure am glad that I wasn’t running the stinking half – YUCK!

    You have a very solid 20 mile run under you belt – just mentally knowing you can cover that distance is going to seriously help you with the race! Maybe next weekend you should head out with the 12 miles in mind and if you are feeling great stretch it out a bit, but if not, be happy with 12 miles. Thats pretty darn close to half your marathon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

