The cows don’t know today is the royal wedding

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a gorgeous day, reaching toward 70 degrees (even though it did get crazy windy later). The weather here in Minnesota was even celebrating the royal wedding.

Our cows, however, do not know today was a big wedding day. πŸ™‚ Just in case this little phrase sounds dorky to you, let me explain.
Dairy farmers (and especially people who used to be dairy farmers but aren’t any longer) like to say things such as, “the cows don’t know it’s Christmas” or “the cows don’t know it’s a holiday.”

Now, I might counter that maybe cows know it’s a special day like Christmas because we’re rushing around trying to get things finished faster than normal, but who knows.

What they mean is simply that cows need to be fed, milked, and cared for regardless of what day it is. They don’t take time off from their schedules for a holiday, and so the farm must continue on as usual.

Now I realize most of you are probably continuing on as usual, too. I will say I do know some people who have gone a bit bananas for these particular nuptials.

Waiting for milk just like normal. (This was actually taken on a drizzly day earlier this week.)

In any case, this wedding is big world news that even makes it here to our little corner of Minnesota. For my part, I thought Kate looked elegant and classy.

Moving along to…

Running Tales

I continue to test out my knee with mixed results. I seem to be having a “weird feeling” in the knee in question, but it’s nothing jabbing that I can’t run on. I will be starting out on a long run this weekend and seeing how far it takes me.

This morning’s effort was just over 4 miles (after 2 days of rest). Calvin – I think that’s what we’ve settled on – was eager to go at 5:30 as I tied my shoes and called for him to come. I really need to get him a proper leash and collar, but this blue contraption I found last week is doing the job for now.

I know I missed the mark on this picture…

 

I was trying to squat down and join in the photo, but you can see how well that worked. Also – please excuse the mess of leaves. We’re working on that. I promise the other side of our yard is clean.

Okay, be honest. Have you been looking up pictures or watching coverage of the big event? I have’t been warching, but I’m a fan of all the pictures of the nifty hats!

If you run with your dog, do you just use a regular leash and collar? Calvin seems to do fine with anything, so I’m not looking to invest in fancy gear unless it’s needed.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The cows don’t know today is the royal wedding

  1. Runblondie26 says:

    I’ve got such a girl crush on Kate. I think she’s gorgeous. Loved all her dresses today.

    Sorry to hear your knee is still being cranky.Ugh. Pick up some triple strength Osteo-Bioflex. I’ve tried glucosamine supplements in the past, but this particular brand is like a magic pill. My knee pains went away is less than a week. Worth a shot right?

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Uhm yes. I watched the wedding. for FOUR hours. Good grief, that’s 4 hrs I’ll never get back.

    I’ve only run w/ Wyatt once, and I think I had a regular collar on him. It keeps him from pulling so much.

    • Lisa says:

      I would have liked to tune in for a bit, but I needed to run this morning and now that I’m finally home I don’t feel like even turning on the TV. At least we’ve got Internet to give me all the pics I could ever want to see!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    The only wedding “coverage” I have seen has been in blog posts. I’m so out of touch with reality…I never watch the news on a normal day!

    I have never ran with a dog, but I’m not sure if I ever will…if we get a dog Chris wants a beagle/basset hound – they run, but I’d probably end up in the middle of the woods, lost!

  4. Kierstan says:

    I was forced to watch the wedding while working at the Y yesterday morning. All the ladies in there were just going crazy for it. I actually forgot it was on that morning until I pulled out of my driveway at 4:45AM and saw my neighbor’s TV on.

    Do you think your knee pain could be stemming for an irritated IT band??

    • Lisa says:

      I don’t think so, as it feels more like soreness within the knee itself. Luckily it seems to be feeling somewhat better, but I should remember to stretch my ITband better as it certainly can’t hurt!

  5. i use that phrase a lot and i don’t even own cows.

    no wedding coverage for me. i guess this is one time that i’m glad i don’t have a working tv!

    • Lisa says:

      We really don’t get any channels, so I skipped the TV coverage too. The Internet showed me everything I was curious about. πŸ™‚

  6. Dana says:

    I only watched the wedding because Omar had me up at 6 a.m. πŸ™‚ LOVED looking at all the pictures though and hearing the recap.

    As far as running with the dog…..when Arthur goes along with me, I just use a standard 6 foot leash and a prong collar. He normally just trots happily next to me (and now that he’s getting older he’s not so much into pulling) but I always use the prong in case he sees a squirrel or needs to be “reminded” that now is not the time for pulling. I usually give him about .75 miles with the leash in my hand (for potty stops) and then once I know he’s ready to groove, I’ll tie the leash around my waist and he’s fine the rest of the way.

    PS – I like the name Calvin πŸ™‚

  7. bearrunner says:

    Haha, the cows don’t know it’s the Royal Wedding… Love it! It’s funny, I heard those phrases all the time.. My Uncle and Grandparents had a dairy farm across the road from us and they use to have to jet out early or arrive late so the cows could be fed/ milked… Farmers never rest!

    cheers

  8. lauren says:

    I run with both our dogs – and use a slip/choke collar & a six foot leash. They both run on my left side. They are less likely to slip the collar and if they do – their regular collars are still on them with ID. I’ve ran with Lola for about 4 years & when we adopted Kota, he picked right up on following her πŸ™‚ Dogs are great running partners!

    Calvin is a CUTE name!

  9. Brit says:

    I like the name Calvin!

    I watched the wedding, but mostly because I am in the habit of turning the news on in the AM when I do my first round of pre-work email and that is what happened to be on the news Friday morning. I probably wouldn’t have watched it otherwise.

    I don’t run with Duke, he’s not really the running type. Sometimes I run with Tacia. When I do, I use her regular collar and a six-foot leash. I usually pull the hand loop up over my shoulder like where a purse strap would go so that I don’t have to hold it. With Tacia, the leash is really just a formality because there are leash laws. She would trot along beside me whether it was there or not and she even knows to sit at intersections until she is told to cross. Smart, smart dog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

