A Late Spring

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s already been a fickle week for weather, with gorgeous 60 degree temps yesterday and a rainy 45 today.
 
While some people may not like the rain because it interferes with their outdoor plans or messes up their freshly washed cars, we farmers are having more serious qualms. We need the rain to stay away so our fields have a chance to dry out enough to plant!
 
 It’s already a late spring, as last year at this time we were nearly done planting. I think further south of us some farmers are out in their fields, but the conditions just haven’t been right for us yet.

Bare fields are ready and waiting

 
Just so you don’t get the wrong idea, I’m not against rain. 🙂 I know it’s the very life-blood for our growing plants, but I just don’t want any of it this particular week. (I’d also like it to stay away on May 21 for my marathon, but that’s another issue.)
 
So we wait for planting season, and once we get seeds in the ground you’ll be able to read all about it right here!
 
In the meantime, I thought I’d give you a little twilight tour of the farm. After I snapped the picture above of the bare field last night, I checked on a few cows and then headed back outside into the dark to get a few last pictures. I always think the early evening is a pretty time, even if my photos don’t do it full justice.

City Lights? Nope; barn lights!

Dusk at the farm
 Running Tales
 
Don’t ask. 😦
 
Okay, I guess I do need to share a few of my training woes with you. At the top of the list is the fact that I ran 10 miles last week. I have a marathon in 1 month, and I ran 10 miles last week. My knee is still bothering me. I’ve iced it, taped it, wrapped, rested it, and I’m running out of ideas.
 
Maybe the problem is I want it to get better on MY timeline, and my knee may actually want to take a bit longer. In any case, I’m taking it day by day.
 
I ran a few easy miles yesterday, and it didn’t really feel worse than walking. The sharp pain is gone, but a dull ache remains. I’m hoping if I baby it this week I can still get a decent long run in this weekend.
 
If not, then I guess I’ll just have to deal with that too and adjust my schedule as best I can. I may not run the marathon as fast as I’ve hoped, but by gosh I will be at that starting line.
 
Now that I write this down, I can’t help but see how similar this experience is to other challenges in my life. Maybe it’s a timeline I’ve got for a work or family goal. Things aren’t coming together like I hoped, and frustration starts to set in.
 
Or maybe it’s a family member or friend facing a crisis that I feel powerless to help them resolve. I struggle through these issues, I pray, and I wait for things to come together as I want them too.
 
In the midst of this, I need to keep reminding myself I am not ultimately in charge. Someone far greater is, and His timing is perfect. So whether I run the marathon fast or slow, hopefully that timing will also be perfect. 🙂
 
Any questions about spring planting on the farm?
 
How do you best deal with setbacks in your training (or other parts of your life)?
 
 
 
 
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Crops, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Late Spring

  1. i really don’t deal well with setbacks. i try and just plow through them. and then end up injured. blaaaaah.

    aaaaaaaaaand how many hours do you work on the farm? i feel like it’s more than a full time job so i’m impressed you can train!

    • Lisa says:

      Well… Currently I’m at the farm probably 20-30 hours per wk, and I’ve got a 40+ hour/ wk day job that I commute too far for. I think it’s possible I’m working too much, and I’m in process of a transition I’ll blog about soon. (hint: it will involve more farm time.)

      Glad to read that PT is going well for you!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Gah! I just want to rain to stop…I’m ready for bright spring colors! Oh, and sun!

    Taking the time off is probably exactly what your knee needs. It stinks that it is right in the peak of marathon training, but you’ll get through it. You have had some really great training up to this point!

  3. Jena says:

    Set backs are running(ha not really) my life right now. Not my life, but they are putting a damper on my running career that’s for sure.

    I hope your knee starts to feel better soon and that you are able to get your long run in this weekend.

    I’m anxious to hear about this transition you are talking about in the above comment.

  4. Brit says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your knee. I said this yesterday, but remember to listen to your body. You have trained hard and I’m sure that you’ll run a great race even if you have to take a few days off in the next month. Hope your knee is back to normal soon.

  5. Kierstan says:

    I want the rain to stop too! I finally found the motivation to start a veggie garden this year and we haven’t been able to till because it has been so wet.

    Rest that knee!!

  6. Bree says:

    I don’t mind the rain alll that much. Just the cold rain!

    This is not related to this post…but I was thinking, on my drive home on Sunday as we drove through dairy farm country, the picture you posted the other day about the little white church. It looked soooo familiar to me…if you don’t mind sharing where it is, I would love to know if you want to email me 🙂 I am sure there are plenty of little white churches in central MN, but still…got me thinking!

  7. bearrunner says:

    Love the city scape… barn scape…
    Take it easy with your knee… It will get better… Give it a few days of total rest if possible… Then nail your final long run!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

