Please knee, don’t do this to me…

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s a misty day, but the forecast says by Easter Sunday it should be warm and sunny.

It seems hard to believe it was just last Saturday that I had a strong 20 mile run and was feeling so confident. Now less than a week later, I’m kind of a basket case.

I went out for a 5-6 mile run on Wednesday, and it started just fine. I warmed up for the first mile, and about mile 2 I started feeling some pain in my knee. It wasn’t terrible, but it definitely wasn’t normal either. I kept the pace easy, but it started to get worse and I called it quits after 4 miles.

I iced the knee, tried to stretch things out, and wrapped it that night. Today is Friday, and things don’t seem to be any better. 😦

I’m going to try taping my knee as seen below and see if that helps.

http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-241-286–13018-0,00.html

(Luckily I have some kinesio tape left from my Achilles problems last year.)

I hoped to run 10-12 tomorrow, but I also know I probably shouldn’t if I continue having jabbing pains. ..

The rational side of me knows I’ve had a solid 20 mile run, I’m only 1 month out from the marathon, and I will just do more harm than good if I run in too much pain.

The irrational side of me really wants to keep with my training plan. After last weekend’s run I had hopes of a faster marathon than I originally thought, and I don’t want to lose training momentum.

I think every runner must struggle with knowing when you can carefully run on an injury and when you absolutely must rest. Let’s hope I strike the right balance.

In other news, I finally got some pictures from the race last week. I actually look happy in this first one, and as race photos go, they’re pretty decent for me. 🙂

 

What do I do about this knee? After some research it just sounds like “runner’s knee” or possibly tendon soreness, but I doubt it’s full-blown tendonitis. I’ve never had knee problems,which is why this sudden pain is so perplexing.

Hope you all have a wonderful Easter weekend!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Please knee, don’t do this to me…

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    REST! I ran my first marathon with full blown tendonitis in my foot. It is the reason I need a “redemption marathon”. It sucked…and it wasn’t necessary. If I had taken time off when it started hurting I probably would have been okay, a little behind in training, but okay on race day.

    Listen to rational Lisa – you know you can cover 20 miles and feel good in the end. Focus on that and give yourself the weekend off. It will feel “wrong” but really, it is the right thing to do!

    I’m sorry your knee is acting up…hopefully it is something that will be better after some good, solid resting!

  2. hmmmmmmmmm my intelligent brain says rest. but my emotional gut would run. butttttttttttttt i’m really injured now and in pt. so i’m not really one to dole out advice. but i will say that i wish i hadn’t been so stubborn to stick to training exactly.

  3. Dana says:

    As much as it’s going to bother you, you’ve got to listen to “rational Lisa” and take the weekend off. I’m a stubborn runner and always feel like I should push beyond the pain, but I’m coming to realize that sometimes a “screaming knee” (or in my case, a screaming hip) needs to be listened to.
    You had an AWESOME 20-miler last weekend and a little rest isn’t going to impact your training. Better to take the rest now than to be full blown injured right before or on marathon day.

  4. Cassie says:

    Hope your knee gets better soon!

  5. Lisa says:

    @ everyone- thanks for your thoughts and comments. It seems like the knee is feeling somewhat better, so maybe the icing and tape is helping. In any case, I think I’ve decided against a long run today. Thanks ladies.

Leave a Reply

