Ready or not…

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s cold and windy with a 100% chance of rain and/or snow overnight.

Even though the weather sounds yucky, I might be excited about the prospect of spending mid day inside tomorrow drinking hot mugs of coffee, catching up on cleaning , and putting something delicious into my crock pot. But… instead I’ll be running a 20 mile race. When I finally signed up for it a few weeks ago I had this strange feeling the weather would be “less than ideal” to put it nicely.

I don’t want to go back to long pants and multiple layers because the temps should hit 40 by noon, but it also sounds like strong wind is in the forecast. What to do, what to do?

Wish me luck because I’ll need it!

Other than thinking about the race, I’m experiencing serious lonesomeness for my bulldog lately. We’ve been missing Wellington exactly 26 days. I had a dream last night that he just came strolling up to me at the farm as though he’d never been gone. That would be so grand.

looking alert and serious last fall…

That’s all for now, folks. And before you go, give me your opinion:

 
Do I error on the side of dressing too warm or too cool??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Wellington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ready or not…

  1. tricky call on the gear. i HATE being cold so i know i would end up overdressing. is there anyway you can bundle up at the start and then chuck the clothes as you warm up / the weather warms up?

    • Lisa says:

      I hate being cold while running as well. If I knew for sure it would warm up, I’d just wear an old shirt or jacket I don’t care about tossing away. But with the wind I’m worried it really won’t warm up, and I’ll be mad I didn’t wear better clothes. Oh well, I know I will eventually figure something out. 🙂

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Is is going to rain/sleet/snow tomorrow morning like it is tonight? If so, layer a bit and put on a wind breaker of sorts! Hope the weather gets nicer for you…what the heck happened to last weekends awesomeness?

    Good luck with the 20 miler! This is definitely a time when having a race to push you the distance is a good thing! My 20 mile training run for TCM was a race…I’m glad it was or I may have wimped out early…GOOD LUCK! 🙂

  3. danicastacijo says:

    I would layer a bit, but I get cold easily though. Maybe a some running tights, a long sleeve shirt under a short sleeve shirt. Still praying for precious Wellington to come home.

  4. Kierstan says:

    Good luck on the run! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    So sorry to hear that Wellington is still missing. That sucks.

  5. Kelly says:

    Way to go!! You are making me want to train for a marathon! What an accomplishment! As for gear…bundle up, there is nothing worse than suffering through the cold!! I am always cold! But, when you get running you will warm up! My husband and I went for a run yesterday and it was so cold it was not tolerable!! And then the snow came!! And then the wind! Bring lots of different things along with you and decide right before the race!! Good luck!!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Kelly. I also agree about being cold on a run being awful. Granted I don’t like being too hot either, but that hasn’t been much of a problem lately!

Leave a Reply

