Boys and their toys

Greetings from Minnesota. The weather has turned cold on us, and it was right at 32 degrees when I started up my car this morning. Fickle weather!

Have you ever seen a fully grown man morph into a 10-year-old boy persona upon seeing a new tool or machine he wants? It could be a shiny new lawnmower or some sort of electrical gadget I can’t even figure out how to turn on. Or maybe your man like motorcycles, fast cars, or fancy boats?

Whatever the case may be, I think we’ve all seen this in action. (I apologize to any male readers out there, but you may as well admit you probably have this weakness too. 🙂 ) Not that this is a bad thing; I’d like a sparkling new BMW as much as the next girl. Luckily JR doesn’t want a motorcycle, but I think he would like the fancy boat.

Well, here’s the new “toy” that recently arrived at the farm.

Youll notice we still had some snow when "Bertha" first arrived a few weeks ago.

Hard at work the other night

This is a payloader, and we’ve actually never had one on our farm before. We have smaller skid loaders, but not anything this big. We got a good deal on this one though, and it will be handy to be able to move much larger buckets at a time. We can use this for moving dirt and gravel or cleaning out barns. Or with a separate and clean bucket, for scooping feed out of our bunker silo – more about our bunker silo on this post.

Of course it is work and probably gets uncomfortable to operate this for long hours, but when it first arrived JR was like a kid at Christmas. There is just something magical for guys about big machinery…

Running Tales

I ran 5 moderately paced miles today, and I think it may be my last before I run 20 on Saturday. I could do a few really easy miles tomorrow, but I’ve run Tuesday-Thursday and I don’t really think 3-4 slow miles are  going to do me any good. I’ve decided I might be the type that does best with a rest day before a long run when it’s possible.

Thanks for your suggestions on my previous post, as it does help to hear what the rest of you are all doing!

Do you or does anyone in your life have a weakness for toys or gadgets?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Boys and their toys

  1. icky weather. here’s it’s been rain, sun, rain, sun. annoying.

    i’m sure i’m like that when i get new toys. anything new is so exciting in general!

  2. danicastacijo says:

    My husband loves: video games, cars and motorcycle. Lol those are his toys he likes to tinker with.

  3. Jess says:

    LOL! Our neighbors have a GIGANTIC payloader that is named “Big Bertha”. They’ve rescued us more than once with it too. What a great tool! Enjoy! 🙂

  4. Cassie says:

    Boys and toys! Yes it’s true! Love the new payloader…my husband would be drooling too! He also has an odd obsession with vacuum cleaners….just as of a few days ago we are proud owners of 4 shop vacs and a Kirby…..and fortunetly he loves to use them as well….he vacuumed the entire main floor this weekend!

Leave a Reply

