Spring Babies and Long Runs

Greetings from 60+ degree Minnesota. Woo hoo for nice weather!

Instead of writing a whole bunch today, I thought I’d give you an inside scoop into what some of our baby calves are up to …

On this nice day we have the side flaps open on their hutches. For some reason they are all just thrilled by sticking their heads out the side. Who would have guessed? 🙂

 This little Jersey calf below is too cute not to post. Especially in their first few days of life, calves seem to sleep a lot. Rather like a newborn of any kind, they like their rest!

It’s definitely more enjoyable feeding calves, checking on cows, and just being outdoors in this nice weather. I am rather hoping we don’t get the snow they are predicting this weekend.

Running Tales

I took yesterday off, as my body just felt drained. A recovery run to loosen up tight muscles probably would have done me some good, but it didn’t happen. After getting up later than I wanted this morning, I only squeezed in 3.5 miles . The first few were a slow and forced warm-up, but by mile 3 I was running sub-9:00 pace and feeling just fine. I really wish I would have had another 20 minutes to run this morning, but so it goes.

I’m kind of unsure how to proceed this week because of the 20 miler I’m signed up for on Saturday. It’s a race that I’m treating as a training run, so I should just train through as normal. But it feels different because it’s a race. 

I need/should aim for 40 miles this week but not quite sure how it will all fit together. I also question whether I should or shouldn’t run on Friday. Most people seem to know whether they do best running the day before races and/or long runs. For myself, I haven’t quite figured out the perfect formula yet.

Do you normally take a rest day before a long run? What about before a race?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Babies and Long Runs

  1. I usually do something easy on the legs the day before a long run–cross-train on the elliptical, upper body lifting, maybe biking. It’s not physical so much as mental for me…if I run two days in a row, I get bored and cranky more easily! I like to take a few days off running before a big race so I’m excited to get out there.

  2. Bree says:

    If I do anything before a long run or race, it’s a realllly slow easy jog. Just to get the blood flowing.

    Not sure what I will do on Friday because we are heading to St. Cloud after work and timing and weather wise I might skip it. If it were going to be nicer out I would talk my little sister into either running with me or biking alongside. Only a few more days! Yikes.

    • Lisa says:

      Crazy how fast this weekend is coming up; you’ll do great! Hopefully we may bump into each other. I don’t know if I’ll be at the expo, but I definitely plan to come early on Saturday.

  3. Cassie says:

    Such cute calves! I love the photo of the one sleeping! Very adorable.

    Good luck with the long run! You can do it! And you’ll find your own groove soon.

  4. bearrunner says:

    haha I love the baby cow huts! They are really cute!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

