Going Through the Motions

Greetings from Minnesota. We had our first big March snowfall, and I’m thinking we got at least a 1/2 foot of snow. It snowed most of the morning, but things have let up now. Here’s a quick look.

Do you ever have those days where it’s all you can do to go through the motions?

 I’m going to try not to permeate every post with sorrow about my missing dog, but right now that’s what is on my mind. I miss him in the morning when I normally let him out, and I miss him at night when I automatically think to refill his water bowl. I miss him when I turn on my computer and see his picture on the desktop, and I miss him when I’m feeding calves and expect to see him bounding towards me.

Going through the motions is important because I can’t quit living my life, but everything just feels a little stale. I put in some miles on the elliptical today because that’s what was available, even though I didn’t really want to. (I was glad for the exercise when I was done at least.) Edit – I haven’t been on the elliptical in months and I do not consider it running. However, it was the option, so I decided it was better than nothing. Plus, I could beat out my anger as I wildly flung the stupid handle bars…

I also feel like food doesn’t even taste as good. What’s up with that?? Obviously we keep eating, but I think my husband and I both don’t enjoy meals as much. I also find myself lingering at the farm because I’m not anxious to get back to our quiet house at night. It seems we notice Wellington’s absence the most when we’re home in the evening.

If you’re in Minnesota or the Midwest, drive safe and careful on these snow-covered roads. If you’re enjoying sunny skies, good for you. Enjoy them extra for me, will ya? And if you live in Central Minnesota, keep your eyes open for a white bulldog. He loves people, and will probably run right up to you if you call him.

How do you cheer yourself up (and others close to you) when you’re feeling low??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Wellington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Going Through the Motions

  1. Uugh, I am so sorry to hear that Wellington hasn’t come home yet. I really hope that he shows up soon! HUGS!

  2. Brit says:

    I’m so sad for you and your H. I thought for sure that we would have good Wellington news by now. Don’t feel bad at all to post about him and what you’re thinking. We’re here to listen, sympathize, and send positive thoughts and prayers. I hope to see a ‘Wellington is home’ post soon.

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Ugh, I’m so sorry he isn’t back yet! I was sure we would be seeing about post about him returning and a funny story about how it happened – I’m sorry! I’m sending “come home Wellington” thoughts out your way!

  4. Brittany says:

    I am sorry he hasn’t come home yet. I feel the same way about my dog. He has been at my inlaws before for a few days and I was lost without him. It is ok to feel like this because right now he is you and your husbands child. If I was closer I would help look for him!

  5. lauren says:

    my heart breaks for you. Is he microchipped, by chance? If so, the company who manufactured the chip will send out alerts.

    please keep us posted.

  6. Lisa says:

    Thanks for helping me stay positive everybody!

  7. Courtenay says:

    Lisa…I am so sorry! I’ll be praying for you and your pup!

  8. Bree says:

    I’m so sorry he isn’t back yet. I have been thinking of you. I should send a picture of him to my parents. I have relatives that live “in the country.” I don’t know how close they are or where you are exactly, but it might help.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for thinking of this Bree. I think everything helps, and I also feel like anywhere in Central MN could be fair game as he could be far from home if he’s been on the move. Luckily our humane society covers 3 counties, so that should give us a better chance if anyone turns him in.

  9. Dana says:

    I am so sorry you are going through this! You’re in my thoughts and I hope the Wellington returns home soon.

  10. sweatykid says:

    What a worrisome and upsetting couple of days it has been for you guys. 😦
    Thinking of you and hoping that Wellington turns up healthy and happy soon.

  11. Carolyn says:

    Girl you are allowed to be sad and bummed and every single one of your post can reflect that. I am saddened to hear your pup isn’t home yet. I’m envisioning him on an epic journey -one that brings him lifelong joy!

    • Lisa says:

      An epic journey that brings lifelong joy – that is a nice thought actually. Kind of like The Incrediable Journey if you’ve seen it. I just hope it’s one he returns from…

  12. i’m so sorry! ((hugs)) i usually call my best friend. or turn up the radio really loud and sing and dance. even if it feels forced at first there is always a song that can make me smile. although it does take me awhile to get into it. most of the time i feel like being mopey.

  13. Cassie says:

    I certainly know how you feel. I sense a much darker mood in this post, and it’s not the cheerful Lisa I remember. But it’s also refreshing to hear you vent and realize that you are human, too! (with all that crazy running, I sometimes do wonder if maybe you are superhuman or something!) And your edit regarding the eliptical made me laugh.

    I’m so sorry Wellington is still missing. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

