Come Home Wellington

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s a spring-ey 40 degrees, but my mood is pretty bleak today…

Last night I was finishing up chores at the farm like normal, and about 7:30 I was done except for waiting on a cow that was starting to calve. The husband called to see if I was almost done, and he asked if I’d seen Wellington.

I told him I was waiting on a new calf that should arrive soon, and I hadn’t seen Wellington recently. This isn’t too abnormal, as Welle likes to prowl around the farm during chores and get himself good and muddy in this spring weather.

Well, after moving and feeding the new heifer calf and calling for Wellington on and off, I started to get a bit worried. Soon we had four of us out looking in the darkness with flashlights and driving slowly along our country roads whistling for our dog. We called neighbors and checked every hiding place we could think of, but still no Wellington. About 11:30 we finally had to give up the search for the night. Not that I slept much…

Today was a long day at the office as I attempted to get caught up on mountains of paperwork and call all the local shelters and vets I could think of. We’ve made and are delivering posters to neighbors and businesses – luckily we have lots of good photos of him – and really hoping he hasn’t gone too far. 😦

I honestly didn’t realize it could hurt this bad to lose a dog.

In situations like this, I’m good at praying for what I want and pouring out my heart. “Puh-lease, pretty please bring my dog back to me, okay God??” I don’t think God wants my heartbroken husband and I to be without Wellington. But as I sit here in a mess of tears, I’m realizing that maybe instead of asking for what I want, I need to pray for trust and strength. I definitely need strength from God to deal with this situation, and I need to trust in Him to carry me through it.

Easier said than done, but it’s still true. I honestly don’t feel like doing much of anything except looking for my dog until I find him. I know God held my hand this morning as I drug myself out of bed to hit the treadmill, showered, and got myself to work. Even my run didn’t fix things this morning, but I will admit it was better than lying in bed feeling sorry for myself.

I’m sure these aren’t terribly coherent thoughts, but thanks for reading tonight anyway. If you pray or if you send positive thoughts, please include me and my family tonight as we continue our search.

Wellington "helping" me a few weeks ago

Playing in the yard on Saturday

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That, Wellington and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Come Home Wellington

  1. ((hugs))! i’m sending TONS of positive thoughts your way!

  2. sweatykid says:

    No!! I’m so sorry to hear this! 😦

    Hoping Wellington turns up safe and sound soon…

  3. Runblondie26 says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. Undoubtly you’re going out if your mind with worry. Sending you lots of good vibes that little guy finds his way back.

  4. Tons of positive thoughts and good vibes heading your way. Come home Wellington!!

  5. danicastacijo says:

    Sending a prayer and postive thoughts your way. I have a dog that I love to pieces and couldn’t imagine that situation your going through… I hope your beautiful Wellington comes home soon.

  6. Cassie says:

    Oh Lisa! I’m so sorry! praying for you!

  7. Carolyn H. says:

    Please keep us updated. Losing a dog is losing a family member. I have a feeling Wellington is just out having fun!

  8. lauren says:

    Keep us posted, i hope he comes home soon & safely. Praying for your family.

  9. Brit says:

    I hope Wellington makes it home safely. I will be thinking of you guys and your pup.

  10. Heidi Nicole says:

    Oooh, I hope he makes it home safely…and soon!

  11. Lisa says:

    Thanks everybody. It’s great to have readers who support me through the good time I write about and through sad times like this. I really appreciate it. No news yet though. 😦

Leave a Reply

