Ugly Spring and Sweet Sixteen

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s foggy and about 40 degrees this afternoon. Happy first day of spring!

If you haven’t spent time in the midwest in early spring, you may question why I title my post “ugly spring.” Well, spring around here means snow melt. As this happens, we’re left with dingy, grey piles of snirt (snow/dirt), lots of mud, and grass that is a pale green/brown combo.

Spring doesn’t get pretty until late April or early May when the grass really gets green and flowers and buds start peaking through. Of course it’s worth it, and I can’t wait for the flowers of May!

Here’s a brief look around the farm.

Muddy yard...

2 seasons at once!

Every season has its beauty though, and this look at the white moon over partially melted fields at dusk does make a lovely scene.

Running Tales

As I continue marathon training, I must say I am humbled by the effort it takes to get through the weekend long runs and the growing weekly mileage my plan calls for.

I had 16 on my schedule for Saturday, and it was a chilly morning in the 20’s. I used this to justify not starting until the temps climbed above 32 at about noon, but possibly I was just procrastinating. 🙂

I successfully ran around “my” lake (which I blogged about just last week). It’s a little surreal to realize I ran 16 miles yesterday, but it’s even scarier to realize that a marathon is 10 miles more than that… 😯

I think I’m getting better at staying positive and running strong even when my legs feel like garbage. This, more than anything else, is what marathon training seems to be teaching me so far.  I’m trying to employ an easy start to my long runs, and then pick up the pace as I go. So far so good, but as I plan to try for an even pace on race day I may need to try that out in my next long run.

FYI – my pride dictates that I state the last mile wasn’t really 10:54. My GPS started doing strange things at the end, and I would estimate I finished this run out at about 9:30-9:45 pace.

What does spring look like around you?

What is your pacing strategy for your long runs?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running, Uncategorized, Wellington and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ugly Spring and Sweet Sixteen

  1. Nice run! Today in SE Iowa it was a balmy 60 something degrees, I have the tops of my tulips and hostas peeking up through the dirt and after our first thunderstorm of the season this morning, the sun shone brightly for a bit in the afternoon. 🙂

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Wrapping my mind around the pace of long runs has always been really difficult for me. I don’t really have a method – but then I have a while to figure that out since I’m avoiding the marathon distance for a while! 😉

    We had a full day of ran. Ew. Honestly, rain all day. It work me up in the middle of the night and has been pouring or spitting the entire time. Gross. I stayed in the house. All of the remaining snow is all gross and mud-looking!

  3. Carolyn H. says:

    Glad you successfully completed 16 miles! Good luck on the rest of your training. Spring here if Florida is in full force – beautiful and wonderful – and I’ll stop talking about how great the weather is because I don’t want you to feel bad that your spring is currently ugly. 😉 The only thing is, come May when your weather is amazing, ours is hot as hell. You win some, you lose some. 🙂

  4. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Spring is hot so far. =/ I don’t think I have a good pacing strategy. This last training session I tried to do a few long runs at race pace, but I don’t know how feasible that is for a marathon training plan. I don’t even know if that is recommended, but I felt more comfortable going into my race.

  5. Jess says:

    Ah yuck. We have nothing but mud here too…. but I don’t mind. I’d rather deal with the mud than have temps around zero. Spring is coming!!! Yes, you can feel it in the air!

    I started, although slowly, back on the treadmill again. I LOVE running but it’s been so long. Your long runs are so inspiring! Great job!

    • Lisa says:

      So true – we need spring, mud and all! Good luck on the treadmill too. 🙂 A few years ago I’d gotten pretty lax about running and several miles took a major effort. You can definitely get back into it if you just start slow and stick with it. Hope you can get outside once the weather gets nicer too, as I think it’s way more enjoyable that way!

  6. Brit says:

    Great job on your long run!

    We are starting to have Spring here. Hopefully it sticks around! It has been warm enough to run in shorts and short sleeves for a few days straight. Pretty awesome. 🙂

  7. Lisa says:

    @ everyone – thanks for all the encouragement! What would I do without my loyal readers?? 🙂

  8. angryrunner says:

    Spring looks pretty much the same around here. I was admiring the fact that we have only a few piles of snow left…then I hear we’re getting more snow. Never fails!

    Keep going with the long runs, while it’s never “short”…the distance does get less intimidating with time.

  9. Cassie says:

    Again, Lisa, I have to say, WOW! Good for you! Those numbers floor me! What a learning experience for you. And it’s so interesting to read about what it’s like to train for a marathon. Keep the posts coming!

Leave a Reply

