Peaks and Valleys

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s a gorgeous St. Patrick’s Day with temps in the mid-50’s, and you can practically see the snow melting. I’ve been away from the farm all week (traveling for my day job), and I can’t wait to get home and see my husband, bulldog, and the cows. 🙂

I know I’ve been MIA lately, so I’m going to give a little summary of my running week. We’ll start with the valleys – bad news first and all. I did two early morning runs in a hotel gym -a nice hotel gym mind you – but my legs felt like lead and I wanted to quit every step of the first mile during both of them. Even though I enjoy running and talk about how thankful I am for it, some mornings it really is grueling to get through the miles.

The peaks in running definitely make the valleys worth it. I suppose the valleys are also character building. On Monday afternoon, I think I may have had the most fabulous run of my life. Really. I like running in different places, and I’d truly been looking forward to this particular river path run for weeks.

 I prayed for good weather and wasn’t disappointed. I was in capris on a sunny 38 degree afternoon and definitely felt blessed indeed. I started out rather mellow, but the weather was perfect, the view was gorgeous, and I guess I was just itching to run fast.

Before I post the stats, I think I’ll actually post some pictures. FYI – I only paused my GPS once during the run to snap a quick photo; all the others were taken before and after the run.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

{If you’re reading Jena, it’s super easy to create a slideshow. Just upload all the pictures you want to include. Then, click on the “gallery” tab in the upload/add an image menu and you should see your photos appear. Scroll down to the bottom of the gallery and click insert slideshow. If you don’t blog directly from WordPress, then I’m not sure of the instructions. I’m sure google could help you out!}

And, here’s how the run went….

My main comment on this run, you may ask? Let’s just say the only 10K race I’ve ever run was done at 9:33 pace. It was a hot and humid day in July, but still…. So this 7 mile run @ 8:54 pace with the last mile @ 8:09 = 😀 I think I just might be getting faster.

Okay, enough about my running. Hope you’re all having a great week! I promise to eventually get some spring farm pictures up, as I’m sure the views have changed since Sunday.

Any big St. Patty’s Day plans??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peaks and Valleys

  1. no plans for tonight but tmrw…it’s another story. well hopefully. i have big dreams but who knows if my friends share them!

    AWESOME for getting faster. that’s so exciting 🙂

  2. sweatykid says:

    Wow, that’s a huge improvement — sounds like an exciting run!

    No huge plans here aside from baking soda bread and subjecting my friends to a bad Irish accent…

  3. Brit says:

    Awesome run! I bet that feels great!

    No St. Patty’s Day events for me. I should have cooked something at least, but I didn’t really. Oops!

Leave a Reply

