This long run thing could be fun…

Note: I thought I posted this Saturday afternoon – but here it’s still sitting in my drafts. So, just read this as though it’s mid-day on Sat, March 12th.

Greetings from Minnesota!

We got hit with snow and wind last night, and I felt my fingers might freeze off as I fed a fussy calf her bottle. (She wouldn’t or couldn’t figure out how to suck from her bottle holder.) Whether I wear disposable milking gloves (they’re rather like doctor’s gloves) or get my real gloves milk- soaked, my hands seem to freeze either way. Guess I’ve already gotten a bit wimpy about the cold!

I didn’t do my lake run this morning. The roads were still slick from the snow, but the 40 mph wind gusts are what really sealed my fate on the treadmill.

I could have waited to see if Sunday’s weather is better, but Saturday morning is really the best time to guarantee my long run will get done. My lovely bulldog woke me up to be let out at about 4:45, so I got an early start to the gym.

I am excited/surprised/amazed to report that this long thing could actually be fun for the rest of marathon training ;-). I know, I know – I’ve still got a long way to go.

14 miles sounded ominous, but once I got a few miles in I really got in a good rhythm. I had water and Gatorade, and I took a gu at mile 6 which really seemed to help. My plain flavor gu was ok; I think I definitely like it better than the fruit flavors I’ve tried on one or two occasions.

The last 2 miles kind of dragged, but I still felt strong. I kept the pace easier than my last few long runs, doing the first 10 miles @ 10:20, 2 miles @ 10:10, and then 10:00 and 9:45 for the last 2 miles respectively. The 9:45 pace even felt fine at the end.

I definitely plan to approach my long runs with this slower start, as I’m supposed to. The strong finish is definitely a confidence booster too!

Now that I’ve told you more than you ever wanted to know about this run, I’ve got to head off to finish some laundry and put supper in the crockpot before I leave for the farm. Sorry for the complete lack of pictures or creativity in this post.

What’s the longest you’ve ever run on the treadmill?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This long run thing could be fun…

  1. Brit says:

    Great job on your long run! Bummer about being relegated to the treadmill though. It will feel awesome when you get to do your first long run around “your” lake.

  2. shelby says:

    14 miles on the treadmill? You are my hero.

    I also kind of like plain gu! I don’t really like the super fruity or chocolate-oriented ones (chocolate while running? ew). I always go for plain or vanilla.

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I didn’t know a plain gu even existed. All I ever see is those wacko choclateberrybanana flavored ones. Gu still freaks me out. I may have to try them for my next half (that I haven’t found or registered for but am still planning in my head).

    Uhm seriously, 14 miles on the treadmill. I bow down to you crazy girl! The longest I’ve done on the TM i think is 8 or 9 miles. I don’t remember. I try to forget such tragedies!

    P.S. I dreamt i was running marathons last night. weird.

  4. Bree says:

    The most I have run on a treadmill is 6 and it took every ounce of might. Good for you!

    I really enjoyed my long run yesterday. It was weird. Even at the end I was thinking I should do one long-ish run a week even if I am not training for a race. There is something about planning it out and mentally setting myself up for it that I like.

  5. i think i’ve done 18 on the tm before..but they were interval-ly not straight up running. i like that you did a progressive LR…i bet it made the time and miles pass so much quicker

  6. sweatykid says:

    I think 16 is my longest. Hey, it’s not so bad once you get rolling, right? Congrats on a great run! A slow start helps me out a lot too. Hope you’ll be out on ice-free roads soon…

  7. Heidi Nicole says:

    I would have gouged my eyes out with a dull fork at about mile 6. Not kidding. I’m a big baby like that. I think I’ve made it 4-5 miles on a treadmill before I went crazy. I just can’t do it. I think I focus on the numbers too much.

    But hey, that is an awesome treadmill run! Congrats! 🙂

Leave a Reply

