The Last of Winter?

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s starting out around 10 degrees this morning, but the forecast says we might hit 40.

I’m traveling most of this week for work (so don’t feel slighted if you don’t hear from me for a few days…). Yesterday at the farm I realized that the snow cover we’ve had since November could look very different – nearly nonexistent – if we have temps above 32 all week as forecasted.

The snow can melt amazingly fast, especially if we stay above freezing over night. Some springs we have a slow, gradual snow melt, but it can also happen in just a few days if conditions are right. Hopefully we don’t get the rain they are forecasting, as some areas of Minnesota and the Midwest can really start to flood when snow melt and rain combine. (Luckily our home and farm are not really flood-prone.)

I put together a little slide show of some “before” pictures at the farm. It was pretty overcast, so forgive the rather bleak looking sky. You can see that some of our roads have already melted mostly off. I’ll try to take some of the same pictures in the next week, and we’ll see if there’s a noticeable difference in how the landscape looks!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Last of Winter?

  1. Cassie says:

    I am excited to see your “after” pictures! I am hoping that a week from now we have half the snow on the ground. This week’s forcast was enough to get me through the thoroughly odd, sudden, and harsh blizzard we had on Fri/Sat. Have a great week traveling!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Oh man, all that snow is depressing! I have no idea how to make a slide show.. you should do a little “how to” on that.. I’d be interested at least!

Leave a Reply

