Around the Lake

Greetings from Minnesota. It got to be a lovely 40 degree day this afternoon; I seriously have an extreme case of spring fever! It’s now turned into a blustery, cold night with fat, white snowflakes falling…

So I’ve got 14 miles on my agenda tomorrow morning, and I’ve had a small revelation. Let me share the background:

We live close to a sizeable lake with nice paved bike/pedestrian trails, or in some places designated lanes on the shoulder, nearly the whole way around. It really is an ideal place to run, and I’m grateful for it (even though many of the path portions are currently covered in 3 feet of snow ๐Ÿ˜ฆ  ) It’s still a decent running area in winter, as the speed limits are slow, and I can run on most of the lake roads even if the paths are covered.

My normal routes include lots of out-and-back runs or various loops that take me along the lake and then back via the main highway that runs parallel. It’s not a super busy highway (no, I’m not a crazy person), and it’s a safe choice in winter because of the wide, plowed shoulders.

Even though I run near the lake a lot, I’ve never actually run around the entire thing. It’s about 3,000 acres and a unique shape, and the road seems to twist and turn for miles along some parts of the shoreline.

When I first moved to this area, I had a vague goal of running around the entire lake – which I felt would be an incredibly serious undertaking. As I was thinking about my 14-mile route for this weekend, I went online to map out the mileage around “my” lake. I didn’t think I had enough miles on my schedule to tackle the whole thing yet, but the internet map I created tells me it’s right about 13 miles.

I think it’s settled and I’m going to attempt to run around the lake tomorrow (along with a little extra to arrive at 14)! If the weather cooperates and the wind calms down that is. I don’t have a winter lake picture to post and it’s too dark right now to get one, but I’ll share some other views.

"My" lake: Perfect for an early morning run

My husband fishing at sunset

It won’t look like these pictures tomorrow, but if the weather is good enough for me to get outside I’ll be happy. I’m hoping the nasty rain/snow mix they’re forecasting stays away, or I may have to migrate indoors to the treadmill. But I will run around the lake sooner or later!

Just to balance out this post, here’s a look at some of our cows in the milking parlor (from the side). I plan to do a post soon about the milking process and our parlor, so stay tuned!

Have you ever thought a specific run or distance seemed like an unreachable goal, and then one day realized you could do it? Share your stories.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Around the Lake

  1. enjoy the lake run! i don’t think it’s ever been a specific distance buttttt i definitely remember the first time i ran for 90 minutes straight…i was like “whoa i’ve come far”

    • Lisa says:

      90 minutes is definitely a milestone! No lake run for me with icy roads and 40 mph winds. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ the treadmill actually went pretty well, so I’m thankful for that.

  2. Courtenay says:

    The weather looks like it’s shaping up for us starting on Tuesday…perhaps by next week the lake will be more of an option??? I’ve got a lake by my house that’s a “goal” too for this summer.

  3. Enjoy your run around the lake!! Wish I had a few of those here to enjoy…NOPE! Just a few man made ponds. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Brit says:

    I hope you were able to run around “your” lake! I have a local lake that I like to run around also.

  5. Pingback: Ugly Spring and Sweet Sixteen « Cow Spots and Tales

  6. Pingback: Unofficially Awesome. Now, to stay healthy… | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

