I’m Stylish Too!

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s an overcast March day, and I slept in late enough that I missed my morning run. Boo! Luckily I squeezed a short, quick tempo in at noon – a few minutes warm up followed by 2 miles at 7:53 pace!  Lately I’ve transitioned almost all my running to the morning. It’s working great except for the days when I completely sleep through my alarm….

Anyway, I want to say thanks to not one, but three fabulous ladies for giving me the “Stylish Blogger” award. Thanks Bree @ Bees Knees Life, and Jena @ Life is Beachy Keen, and Heidi @ Run-around-aroo!

The rules for this lovely award are:
1 – Thank and link back to the one who awarded you.
2 – Share 7 things about yourself
3 – Pass the award on to some awesome blogs
4 – Contact said bloggers and let them know they are awesome

I already did the thanking, and now I’ll get to my 7 things. This is going to be picture-intensive because I feel like it (so just stick with me, okay?)

1) I do sometimes try to be stylish! I know most of the pictures you see of me involve sweaty running shots or photos of me out in the barn, so I’ll share some dress-up pictures.

(I’m on the left). I love this dress even though I don’t have occasion to wear it much!
My husband and me in our early dating years

2) I think my favorite food in the world might be cheese and crackers. Like when you get asked that question about what kind of food you’d want on a desert island, I would answer cheese and crackers. I honestly think it is the best snack. If I combine it with some fruit and veggies, I can eat it as a meal. And, the varieties of cheese and types of crackers available make the combinations endless.

 
3) I think this little gal who I photographed on Sunday is the cutest calf I have ever seen with her big, fuzzy, white ears. But then again, I know I say that about lots of them 🙂
 
4) I once fell off a ski lift. I was about 16 years old, it was right around the freezing point so everything was slippery and starting to melt. I was sitting next to my friend on the lift, and luckily we were only about 10 – 12 feet up in the air. The seat was slick and I just slid right off. It took me a while to untangle my skis in the deep pile of snow I feel into, but at least it made for a soft landing! I wish I had a picture of this.
 
5) In a faraway time and place, I was high school valedictorian. It wasn’t a huge school – only about 130 in my graduating class – but it’s still a fun fact. Guess this means I was also a nerd?
 
6) I have 4 sisters – no brothers – and absolutely wonderful parents. I’m close with my family, and I try to remember to give thanks for them absolutely every day and stay in touch the best I can. I also have a wonderful husband and give thanks for him too 🙂
At my sister’s wedding (I’m back row, right)

7) Some things that describe me:  Christian, farmer, wife, runner, sister, friend, pianist, daughter, food-lover, worrier, dreamer, messy housekeeper, reader, half marathoner, marathoner in training, coffee-drinker, college grad, Minnesota Twins baseball fan, and blogger. Of course the list could go on, but I’ve gotta stop somewhere.

 
I honestly don’t know who to tag because a lot of the blogs I read seem to already have this stylish blogger award. I think all my readers are stylish, so if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged! Answer the questions and pass the award along as you see fit.
 
 

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I’m Stylish Too!

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Dang Lisa with the 7:53 miles! Great job!

    Aw, that baby calf is the cutest little baby calf EVAR! So sweet! I wish I could pet her! Oh, and you were valedictorian, that’s pretty cool really. I’m always so surprised to hear about entire graduating classes being so small. My graduating class was over 600.. Graduation took FOR_EV_ERRRRR . It was chaos as well. There were beach balls being bounced all over the place. Looking back, it was pretty disrespectful, but at the time it was hilarious.

  2. shelby says:

    Um…you look kind of like a taller version of Taylor Swift in that first pic. (That’s meant as a compliment! A creepy compliment, but a compliment nonetheless!)

  3. bearrunner says:

    Congrats on the award.. You look smokin in that dress… Pictures are wonderful! I wish I could run in the mornings… The calf is cute too!!!!!!!! 🙂

    cheers

    • Lisa says:

      I never used to be a morning person (and I can’t do it everyday) but it seems like the morning is the only time I can guarentee that my run will actually happen!

  4. i’m glad you got that lunch run in. i slept in late enough to debate whether i needed to shower before work hahah

    and you can have all the cheese in my apartment. just leave the crackers for me 😉

  5. sweatykid says:

    Do you have a favorite cheese? Or cracker? Or cheese and cracker combo? I’ve been snacking on cheddar cheese all night but sadly I don’t have any crackers to eat with it. Even more sadly, the cheddar cheese is “mild” instead of my preferred “so sharp it could slice your tongue off.” Oh well!

    • Lisa says:

      My traditional cheese favs are probably sharp cheddar, baby swiss and pepperjack. (Sorry your “sharp” cheddar isn’t sharp!) I’m open to most anything and was in heaven when I spent time in Switzerland and got to eat a wide variety of fresh and aged cheeses I can’t spell 🙂 I’m happy with most any crackers, but lately I’ve just been eating plain Ritz and then some buttery onion flavored crackers left over from Christmas entertaining.

  6. Carolyn H. says:

    Yeah, good work on the speedy miles!
    And damn girl… I’m impressed that you were valedictorian. That is amazing!

  7. Heidi Nicole says:

    Hey, you got your miles in, that is what counts! Mornings are hard…

    That is a really cute calf…she looks so fluffy! And I can understand how you fell of a ski lift. The last time we went boarder we had to hang on extra tight because the seats were so slick!

  8. Cassie says:

    That calf IS adorable!! Good for you on all the running. And why is it that if the work out doesn’t get done in the morning, it’s less likely to happen? I’m struggling with that reality right now, too. And love all the photos you pretty thing, you!

Leave a Reply

