“Here I go…”

“… again on my own. Goin’ down the only road I’ve ever known….” (Do you know this Whitesnake song? I would totally add an audio clip, but that sounds complicated :-))

Anyhow, Greetings from Minnesota! It’s about 20 degrees out, and I’ve got an announcement.

Here I go to Fargo! Yup, I’ve finally pressed the button, paid my entry fee, and signed up for the Fargo Marathon. I’m also running to raise money for a charity that does life-changing humanitarian work around the world – Team World Vision. The accounting major inside me did the research on their financials statements and policies, and I really believe they manage their money well with minimal overhead, and use their resources where they are needed most.

Check out the new Fargo Marathon page in my blog’s header and My Fundraising Page.

Have a great Monday everybody! I’ll be back with cow tales soon.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Here I go…”

  1. Marcy says:

    That’s awesome! I’m originally from ND and have heard amazing things about the Fargo race. I really wanted Fargo to be my first half marathon, but a move to Chicago this year complicated things, so I’m running my first half here instead. Maybe next year! Good luck!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Yay! You finally committed! 😉

    • Lisa says:

      Amazing, isn’t it??

      • Heidi Nicole says:

        Another quick note…I tagged you in a the stylish blogger award that is currently floating around the blog world. Check out my last post if your interesting in accepting!

        Either way…congrats again on pulling the trigger! I’m excited for you! I hope I can find an excuse to be over there for the half – then I can be your cheerleader! 🙂

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I did a silent cheer when I saw that you registered! Yay! I’m excited for you!

    I’m still battling whether or not I want to run a full. It’s not going to happen this year. Maybe 2012.

    I can’t wait to read about the rest of your training! What does J think about it?

    • Lisa says:

      Haha – he seems fine with it, especially because I’ve gotten a lot better about doing my runs early so they don’t interfere with daily life as much 🙂 I think he also understands that it was gonna happen sometime. I think you’ll know when you get the marathon bug… you are rocking your races so much right now that I think you could be happy continuing to lower your 1/2 PR or doing a full – all depends on what you want to do. Thanks for the cheer!

  4. Whoop!! Now I know a few people who will be able to drag me and my bum knee through the entire 26.2!

  5. sooooooooooooooooo now that whitesnake song is stuck in my head. you could always put in the youtube video hah!

  6. Bree says:

    Now I have that song in my head.

    Yay Fargo!

  7. sweatykid says:

    Woohoo!!! Congrats on registering — you are going to have so much fun!

  8. Lisa says:

    @ everyone – Thanks for all your encouraging words!

  9. lauren says:

    WAY TO GO!!!! Looking forward to hearing about your training along the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

