It’s Twins!

Greetings from Minnesota!

Here’s an uncharacteristically quick update …

Sugar the cow is a mom again, and it’s twins! One bull and one heifer, born with no complications. I thought she was looking extra big and swollen, but I figured  maybe it was because she’s so low to the ground (she’s shorter than most of our cows)… 🙂 It seems we’re heading into another busy calving stretch, with 3 new calves yesterday, plus these twins, and several more due soon.

No pictures yet, but I’ll work on that tonight. Here’s one of 1876 “Sugar” herself.

I also had a stellar 5 mile run this morning. Definitely a great start to the day. Be back later; adios!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Twins!

  1. Brit says:

    Cool!

    Is to common for cows to have twins?

    • Lisa says:

      I would say twins seem to be about as common for cows as they are for humans. Not the norm, but it happens from time to time. I don’t know the exact stats, but I’ll share them if I find some! (Twins aren’t exactly ideal as it’s harder on the cow and the calves are generally smaller / don’t do as well, but it sounds like so far so good with these.)

  2. bearrunner says:

    Wowsers, so the cow had her baby??? Congrats !

    cheers

  3. Carolyn H. says:

    Very cool. Question: Do cows only have one baby at a time?

    • Lisa says:

      Yes, when a cow is delivering twins (or even triplets very rarely) the calves will still come out 1 at a time. If everything is normal, they come out front hooves first, then quickly followed by their head (nose first).

      • Carolyn H. says:

        What I really meant was, normally does a cow only carry, then deliver, one calf? (Am I using this terminology correctly?)

      • Lisa says:

        Sorry for the confusion! And yes, you’re right that normally a cow only carries and delivers one calf. Twins seems to me to be about as common for cows to have as they are for people to have. They can happen – but they’re not the usual.

Leave a Reply

