Unofficial PDR and February Running Recap

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s March 1, and the temperature cooperated with the high in the mid- 20’s. It’s crazy windy out, but I guess you can’t always have it all.  Happy March everyone.

My cow talk is brief today, as I’ve got a lot of running tales to cover. But first, I need to post a lovely lady I observed this weekend.

Isn’t that a fine profile? If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you may recognize 1876, aka “Sugar.” She’s one of my favorite cows, and you can read more about her on this post. You’re seeing her picture today because she’s due to calve on March 4. I check on her (and the other expectant mothers) frequently, as I’m hoping to be around when she actually has her calf. You can bet I’ll be posting an update when she does!

Running Tales

My post yesterday alluded to the 13.25 mile long run I did on Sunday. Overall, I would say it was good. I was able to run outside (woo hoo!) and had water and Gatorade strapped around my waist with my amphipod.

The miles felt pretty easy, but my legs started getting sore and heavy around mile 10. It wasn’t anything so terrible that I couldn’t keep going, but I sometimes wonder where my fatigue falls on the spectrum. Do I feel better or worse than the average runner on my long runs, you know?

My splits were actually pretty even, and I ended with an average pace at 10:08. Given that my goal marathon is probably a 10:15 – 10:20 mile pace, I suppose I should be doing my long runs a bit slower. (My 5K PR is just over 8:00 pace so 10:00 pace feels easy, but maybe I’m still going too fast?)

 I went through about 20 oz. of water, about 15 oz. of Gatorade and a small hand-full of hard candy. According to some sources I’m not taking in enough calories, and according to others I’m probably eating too much sugar and keeping my body from learning to burn fat. Many thanks to Brit for her insightful comment on yesterday’s post. I think my current plan is to keep doing what I’m doing for fueling during the run, try to eat more before my long runs, maybe slow down, and focus on icing and using my compression sleeves after long runs.

February’s running summary is pretty sad when you just look at the numbers…

  • 60 miles in February 2011
  • 316 miles on my shoes (lucky I now have a brand new pair sitting in their box waiting!)

Do you want to hear about how the first half of February was super low mileage because of that nagging thigh pain I complained about for 2 weeks? Didn’t think so. I hope to safely increase my mileage and mostly follow my training plan during March and April, and I just pray the rest and cross training I did throughout February is more beneficial than the miles I missed. I did have a solid week this last week, and my long runs are on target so that’s good 🙂

Today’s mileage of 4 – 1/2 was a solid run with 2 miles @ a decent 8:57 pace. The only problem was it seemed like no matter which direction I turned, I was running into the wind. Grr.

I almost forgot; the 13.25 miles on Sunday was also a new, albeit unofficial, personal distance record (PDR) for me. The farthest I’ve run at one time is the half-marathon distance of 13.1 miles, so it was an exciting milestone to realize I ran just a little bit farther than ever before.

What is your general fueling plan for long runs?

What do you base your long run pace on? (I know technically I should be going slower than goal marathon pace, but I’m already running 2 minutes slower than 5K pace. It seems like the rules should be different for faster vs. slower runners, but I’m just now sure how much…)

Any guesses on what day my lovely 1876 will deliver her new calf?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Unofficial PDR and February Running Recap

  1. bearrunner says:

    Excellent job on the 13 miler on Sunday.. and yes, the cow is a beauty

    cheers

  2. Jess says:

    She is a lovely little lady, and I wish you the best of luck to be there when she delivers!

  3. yay for personal distance records! congrats. my fueling for runs is really bad. i basically don’t. but i’ve gotten better at eating something right before and right after. and long run pace? i just go. last marathon cycle it ended up being 1.5 minutes slower than what i ran race day. granted i didn’t know that at the time but it’s how it’s been working out in my training: usually 45-90 seconds slower. i don’t try to do that but it’s just what happens

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the insight! I think this is where my point comes in that pace differs for faster runners who train better (you) and slower newbies ( such as myself). No way will I be that much faster on race day. It’s still very helpful to read your comments and experience 🙂

  4. Bree says:

    The wind was brutal last night. I felt the same. Congrats on the PDR! I will be breaking mine during this 1/2 training, too.

  5. Brian says:

    Hey Lisa, I’m a fellow first time marathon runner and just stumbled across your blog.

    I personally use the rule of running what I’m comfortable with. I’ve ran a 5K, 10K and half marathon in the past and ran faster than I anticipated each time.

    As far as fuel is concerned I usually eat about 2 bananas before a long run (10 or more miles) and will fuel throughout using this stuff called Gu during my runs. Gu is this pasty substance that comes in different flavors that you squeeze out of a tube specifically made for runners. It costs about 99 cents per packet and doesn’t upset my stomach. It definitely needs to be washed down with water though since it’s pretty thick.

    Beyond that, it’s been recommended I drink a slim fast shake and eat a banana within 30 minutes after a run by an experienced marathoner. She said it helps speed up recover and stores up energy in the muscle for the next run.

    Hope this helps and I look forward to reading more about your training!

    Good luck.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the ideas. I do know about Gu, but have taken exactly one in my life because I always felt like it was too many calories at once for the distances I was running. I do have several sitting in my cupboard and will probably get more as the long runs get longer. Best of luck to you as well!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    Yay – a PDR, completely legit!

    I’ve been playing around with fueling for long runs and I always need water – I have a Nathan belt with 2-10oz bottles. I haven’t tried anything else for drinking, mostly because I don’t want to clean out the lid of my water bottles…I’m lazy like that. I’ve fallen in LOVE with Honey Stingers and like to toss a few Welch Fruit Snacks just for fun – I stick them all in a mini ziploc bag and bring them along on my run.

    Mmm…I say Sugar is going to have her calf on March 5…

  7. jeri says:

    That was my favorite part of marathon training last spring, a new PDR week after week. SO MUCH FUN!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

