In the home stretch

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a chilly -5 when I left my house this morning, but I think it warmed up to at least the single digits once the sun came out.

It’s no secret to you, my readers, that I’ve had the winter blues for some time now. I’m just ready for the snow to be gone for good. Even though I know the farm will be a muddy mess when the real spring thaw happens, I’m okay with it. I feel like I’m finally in the “home stretch” of winter, and I just need to put a smile on my face, relax my tense shoulders, and keep moving toward the finish line.

The ironic part about this little analogy is once spring gets here, it won’t be smooth sailing. In reality, I’ll just be getting into the really tough weeks of my “not-quite-official” marathon training. (Perhaps I should make it official and just sign up already? Hm…) It will also be planting season at the farm and things will be even more busy than normal. Spring never seems quite as crazy as fall, so I hope that holds true this year as well!

Even though we’ve still got snow, I think the blue of the sky lately has been gorgeous. Agreed?

I also want to show you these two lovely look alikes. While walking through one of our free stall pens the other night, I saw them lying side by side and tried to get a good picture. I failed on the “good” part, but here they are.

A free stall barn is a barn that has pens filled with stalls that the cows can lie down in or get up from as they please. The cows are free roaming inside in the pen, hence the name free stall. Thanks to google for these images…

A brand new free stall bedded with sand

 
 

A free stall filled with cows (looking from above)

 
If you have any questions about free stall barns, just ask!
 
Running Tales
  
For the first time in what feels like ages, I actually did some cross training. Go me! I hopped on the indoor bike for some easy miles, and I feel good about my efforts even though I am rather pokey. Tomorrow is a long run, so I figured cross training would be a good idea.
 
I feel like things are getting serious now with 11 – 12 miles planned, so send me some good luck. πŸ™‚
 
Also, I want to wish Jena@LIBK a wonderful race at Gasparilla this weekend!
 
I sprinkled lots of random bolded questions throughout this post, so go back and answer (or ask) if you’re up to it!
 
 
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the home stretch

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Oh, sign up for Fargo already! Just so it…

    [no, I haven’t signed up for the half yet…not the point! ;)]

    I have a long run this weekend too – 12 miles – and I’m holding off until Sunday to run because…30 degrees!!!

  2. Brit says:

    I agree with Heidi! Sign up for Fargo!

    I haven’t signed up for my marathon yet either. I have been following the training plan to a T though.

  3. i think you should just sign up for the marathon πŸ™‚ but i’m the same way as you in waiting and waiting to commit and sign up for the silly thing.

    and i always feel like such a pansy after reading your temps!

  4. jeri says:

    Yes. Sign up. NOW! πŸ™‚

  5. I actually treasure what you did here. My
    wife and I do not really have some time to totally check out your blog, nevertheless I definitely will save
    this and get back again later on. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

